John Frieda Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At John Frieda
Shop Stylers & Finishers or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for John Frieda Go Blonder Controlled Lightening Spray

John Frieda Go Blonder Controlled Lightening Spray

  • Versatile, patent-pending formula with citrus and chamomile works with styling heat to gradually lighten and brighten for a natural-looking, blonder blonde. Contains thermo-protectant. Patent-pending technology combines fixative and conditioning polymers that retain hydrogen peroxide, allowing for control of lightening. Visibly lightens in 3-5 uses.
Overall rating:
4.532 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(338 reviews) 338
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 338 reviews
5 stars
261
4 stars
45
3 stars
5
2 stars
5
1 star
22
307 out of 338(91%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Go Blonder Controlled Lightening Spray
Review 1 for Go Blonder Controlled Lightening Spray
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

I've heard horror stories but so far, so good

PostedMarch 24, 2013
Customer avatar
Jennaaa
from Australia
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Hair Colour:Other
Hair Length:Long
Hair Concern:Hair Health
Hair Type:Wavy
Used For:Under 1 year
Please tell us how you most recently received the product:I purchased from the store or online.
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fragrance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Brightens Blonde 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have used this 4 times and will not use it anymore as I achieved the result I wanted. I am a natural medium blonde who dyed my hair darkest chocolate brown last year and have had full head of foils to try and get back to blonde. I was left with a base of very warm light brown with very dark ash highlights and some light ash bits. I can't afford to go to the hair dresser and keep getting full heads of foils, and it's really damaging and never comes out how I wanted it - always too light because they have to let it develop a lot to get it as ash as possible. So I decided to use the spray since the "controlled lightening" appealed to me and it was so cheap compared to going to a salon. I used a LOT of heat after I put the product in - the equivalent of straightening my hair twice probably. I did that each time. Now my hair is a medium ash-beige blonde with very light ash and beige highlights. I plan on using toner to make it even more ash. I'm surprised it didn't go orange! My hair always goes orange from bleach, whether it's natural or dyed. But it is a little brassy in some parts - however my natural hair colour is VERY ash blonde so I'm sensitive even to a beige colour and will call that brassy. I have heard horror stories about this product but hair dressers base it off their experience with old school sprays. A hair dresser told me my hair will probably keep bleaching every time it heats up and will eventually break off and fall off. This caused me a lot of stress but it has been 2 weeks now and my hair is not damaged or getting any lighter at all. I used conditioning treatments as well. It is a bit drying but so is everything. It feels very starchy after you put it on and style it but that goes away after you wash the product off. I left the product on for about a day each time, then applied more and straightened again. Like I said I did that 4 times, 4 days in a row. I think it should have more in depth instructions, because it doesn't say how OFTEN to use it or how long to leave it on, it just has a thing on the back showing results after 10 uses. Probably safer to avoid this if you have very weak hair. But dont assume your hair is weak just because it's frizzy, coarse etc. Mine is very frizzy and porous but I have used Sun-In spray, then dyed it black, and completely bleached it back to light blonde in one go and my hair didn't fall out. So perhaps people suffering breakage already have weak hair, I'm not sure. I won't be using it any more just in case but my results so far are great.
Recommended For: Normal Hair, Oily Hair, Natural Highlights
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Go Blonder Controlled Lightening Spray
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Have recommended this product to at lease one new person a week!

PostedJuly 27, 2011
Customer avatar
Roxi
from South Eastern CT
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Hair Colour:Blonde
Hair Length:Long
Hair Concern:Preserve/Enhance Colour
Hair Type:Wavy
Used For:1-2 years
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fragrance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Brightens Blonde 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I absolutely LOVE this product. It preformed exactly the way that it describes and the affordability cannot be beat. I was an originally blonde from birth but when I turned 17 I noticed my color becoming more of a dark blonde and I had always considered highlighting my hair to regain the sunlight color that I was missing. I eventually decided to highlight my entire head when I was 19, needless to say I was disappointed with the lack of lightening that occurred and the price was just sky high. I was upset for a week straight because no one I knew had noticed a difference in my hair and I barely noticed a change as well. It was then that I turned on the television and saw the Go Blonder hair products commercial and I figured that I had already spent so much money and not to mention time (over 3 hours) in the salon that what's one more try? So that day I went and bought the Go Blonder lightening spray and the first thing I noticed was the price, it was actually affordable, and the smell was close to other John Frieda products. I then proceeded to try the spray that day. After applying, blow drying, and flat ironing my hair I noticed a slight change. The packaging clearly states that it is a gradually lightening spray so I was happy with the results of my first application. After my second application I had gone to work and many of my coworkers noticed that my hair was lighter, I was thrilled. After my fourth application of all over lightening I reached the light blonde color that I had been missing. I could not believe that one product that was so affordable and easy to use would work so well. I work in a customer service related industry and when customers would compliment me on my new lighter blondness I knew I had to give praise to where it was due. No one could believe that I lightened my hair myself with just the John Frieda Go Blonder Lightening Spray, my hair looked professionally done and healthy. I recommend this product to at least one new person a week and mostly because of all the compliments that I still am receiving from both people who knew the darker blonde me and people who I have met as a Go Blonder Blonde. I cannot rave enough about this product and it has made me a John Frieda customer for life. Thank You!
 BrightestBlonde
Recommended For: Normal Hair, Natural Highlights, Colour-Treated Hair
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Go Blonder Controlled Lightening Spray
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

works, but you'll regret it

PostedJune 8, 2013
Customer avatar
Christmas1342
Age:Under 18
Gender:Female
Hair Colour:Blonde
Hair Length:Long
Hair Concern:Damaged Hair
Hair Type:Wavy
Used For:1-2 years
Please tell us how you most recently received the product:I purchased from the store or online.
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Fragrance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Brightens Blonde 
5 / 5
5 / 5
All my life I've had absolutely gorgeous thick, wavy, long hair. Everyone has always been jealous of my hair, and it's always been my favorite feature on myself. The only thing I was always unhappy about was that when I was younger, my hair used to be very light blonde, but as I got older, it darkened to a dark dirty blonde/light brown. So two years ago, I found this product and excitedly began using it. It worked amazingly, and for awhile I had the perfectly golden locks I'd always wanted. However, after about a year, my mom told me she'd noticed my hair getting dryer and thinner. I didn't want to admit it to myself, wanting to think my hair would stay perfect, and so I kept using this product. But in the last year, the damage has become so evident I cannot deny it any longer. I've lost 2/3 of my hair, and the 1/3 I have left is full of split ends and has broken off in random places. I can't put my hair up without random shorter locks hanging out all over the place because they've broken off. I can't even let it dry naturally after taking a bath because it dries frizzy and horrible, looking like a lion's mane (not over-exaggerating). I look at old pictures or videos of myself and how beautiful my hair used to be. I've come to Hate doing my hair in the morning or at night because it makes me cry to look at how dry and destroyed it is in a mirror. Trust me, you may be happy using this product in the beginning, but it is a terrible mistake you do not want to make. This summer I've decided to cut over half my hair off, to just below my shoulders, and I have to dye it back to the color of my roots. Hopefully it will grow back out thicker by next school year. On top of that, I've been taking hair vitamins, and I have to do hair treatments twice a week with coconut oil and a hair cap overnight. My hair is slooooowly getting thicker at the top, but it nothing like it used to be. My mother constantly tells me she can't believe what I've done to my hair. Please, for your own sake, never start using this product. I feel so much less beautiful without my gorgeous hair :(
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
5of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Lara
Madison, WI
 
Please wait while more information about Lara is loaded.
Additional information about Lara could not be loaded.
moderation and caution are the keys!
Posted July 7, 2013
I've been using this product for almost two years now and my hair is as gorgeous as it was before, just always sun-kissed as it naturally is during the summer. I think the key is moderation and caution! I use it only 2 times for my roots every 3-4 months. I can only imagine what it can do if you use it every day! I guess precisely what you've described. If you want to radically change your hair color, not just make it a bit lighter, then go to the salon!
+1point
1of 1voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 4 for Go Blonder Controlled Lightening Spray
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Fits a need

PostedJanuary 5, 2012
Customer avatar
Mybaby2028
from Massachusetts
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Hair Colour:Blonde
Hair Length:Long
Hair Concern:Other
Hair Type:Fine
Used For:3-5 years
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fragrance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Brightens Blonde 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The Go Blonder Controlled Lightening Spray is great to fit the need of matching your winter color to your summer color. While I am not sure how healthy it is for the hair and it is reminiscent of Sun-In of back in the day, after a few uses it makes me feel better about the hair at my part.
While I have naturally (dirty) Blonde hair, the top of my hair lightens quite a bit just from everyday exposure to the elements (my hair is very thin and fine so that could have some to do with it) while the underneath shades remain darker. When winter comes, there is little to no exposure (I hate the cold & live in New England:) so as my hair grows you can see the color difference along my part. I hate this as it gives the impression of "roots" which I guess it is although I don't color my hair and/or makes my hair looks greasy or dirty. While likely I am making more of it than it is, I hate the way that looks. The Controlled Lightening Spray helps with that - After a few uses, that line at the part from my hair growth in winter disappears. Its fabulous.
The product itself is very thin (just like Sun-In) so it does run which means I use very little at a time to try to avoid this. The product also doesn't smell awesome but it isn't bad (like Sun-In) and it doesn't give your hair an unclean feeling either (none of that gritty feel from the peroxide in Sun-In). . .I'm not a fan of over fragranced products nor do I like chemical smells and with fine hair I worry about texture a lot from products so the Controlled Lightening Spray suits me just fine. I would recommend it!
 BrightestBlonde
Recommended For: Dry Hair, Normal Hair, Fine Hair, Coarse Hair, Oily Hair, Natural Highlights, Wavy Hair, Curly Hair, Straight Hair
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Go Blonder Controlled Lightening Spray
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

GENTLY BLONDE!!!!

PostedJune 3, 2012
Customer avatar
amyh
from lexington, ky
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Hair Colour:Blonde
Hair Length:Long
Hair Concern:Damaged Hair
Hair Type:Dry
Used For:5+ years
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fragrance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Brightens Blonde 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Discovered and used the Blonde brightening/lightening - shampoo, conditioner & spritz too. All gentle on the hair even on dull old hi lites or bleached hair and if you want a few strands lightened more this will help.
This will do it without danger! Will also help soften root line if hair is lightened between touch ups
I bought this to refresh bleached blonde hair and then to soften my root line. I wanted long dark roots but I wanted to soften about an inch of the 4 inch new growth. After using this over several applications my hair kept my medium dark brown root then it provided a soft transition to my extra light blonde lengths and tips. So my hair wasn't Just Dark then Light!
My result - dark,less dark,less, less and less until it gently blended into my blonde. Many even complimented me on this look.
Gentle enough to use on dry hair or previous colored hair. I'll bet it's amazing on natural blondes. Just make sure you Moisturize, protect and be gentle on your color treated hair. Not a good Idea to use on extremely damaged hair or hair that has just been bleached.
Have fun and read the directions! If you have really dark hair it may not work the way you want it to but it can do what i described above and more. Have a hi lite thats too brassy, dull , or just not light enough. This should help alot. Just keep applying until desired result is achieved. Use repair serums and moisturize and reconstruct.
 BrightestBlonde
Recommended For: Dry Hair, Normal Hair, Fine Hair, Brassy Hair, Coarse Hair, Dull Hair, Oily Hair, Natural Highlights, Wavy Hair, Curly Hair, Colour-Treated Hair, Straight Hair
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Go Blonder Controlled Lightening Spray
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Turns your hair orange, NOT pretty blonde

PostedJuly 27, 2012
Customer avatar
EllenS89
Gender:Female
Hair Colour:Blonde
Hair Length:Medium
Hair Type:Wavy
Used For:Under 1 year
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Fragrance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Brightens Blonde 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This was recommended by a friend who had only used it for a couple weeks, and was very happy with the results... at first. I took her advice and I purchased the whole collection of Go Blonder to try to get the best results. I used as directed on the bottle. At first i didn't see it do much, but after a few days i was happy to see my roots turn lighter. (I usually will get highlights every 6 months so at first i was happy to see my roots get lighter during the in between times i am not highlighting my hair.) After using this product a month, it turned ORANGE and more of a strawberry blonde than the ideal color i was hoping for. Even worse to add to this i recently wanted to get highlights again because i though i could just cover up the more orange color then it would have multiple colors which would end up looking okay. When i went to my hair salon and i told my hairdresser what i had used, she just shook her head, and refused to do my highlights or even low lights, because it will turn EVERYTHING orange then in your hair. So now i have to use a cleanser in my hair for a month to try to strip the Go Blonder spray out of my hair before i am able to get highlights done again that will not turn orange. If you are looking for an orange blonde then this is for you, if you are not, then STAY AWAY FROM THIS. (My friend has also stopped using the product because she had the same issues).
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
4of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer avatar
suzyqhowru
colorado
 
Please wait while more information about suzyqhowru is loaded.
Additional information about suzyqhowru could not be loaded.
turns your hair orange not pretty blonde
Posted April 19, 2013
hi there. I am curious what color your natural hair color is. if it is highlighted to blond then what is your natural color? remember depending what other color you have on your hair it can react like a chemical rx.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Customer avatar
redblonde
Northern Virginia
 
Please wait while more information about redblonde is loaded.
Additional information about redblonde could not be loaded.
Turned my hair strawberry red/RED
Posted August 8, 2012
It also turned my hair strawberry red and really red in the darker areas. I am a natural blonde and have my hair highlighted. I was in between highlights and had shoulder surgery so I used this to get by before I could get back to the salon. Now, I have to spend tons of money getting rid of this horrible reddish color and am now a yellow gold blonde which I don't like either until we can finally get me back to my normal ash blonde with really nice highlights!! My son is getting married in a couple of months and I am so scared my hair won't be back to normal by then. This is causing damage to my hair and pocket book, just from using it one time!! No one with colored hair should use this product!
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Comments (2)
Read comments (2)
Review 7 for Go Blonder Controlled Lightening Spray
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

So very happy I was introduced to Sheer Blonde

PostedOctober 5, 2011
Customer avatar
Janny
from Grand Junction, CO
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Hair Colour:Blonde
Hair Length:Long
Hair Concern:Lack of Volume
Hair Type:Normal
Used For:Under 1 year
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fragrance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Brightens Blonde 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I first discovered your product by watching a Rite Aid Video Value- thru AdPerk. I was so very intrigued by this video but also very skeptical. Not really wanting to pay the $125.00 I was so used to paying at the salon, I decided I wanted to try your product out for myself, to see if I recieved the same results as the model in the video. I have a darker blonde than she did, so again, very skeptical! I used Sheer Blonde on my roots for a series of about 4 days til the product ran out. (I have thicker hair and used it quickly!) I was so very very pleased with this product and how it brought back my bomb shell blonde!!! I took before and after pictures with my phone and am now an official spokes person for this product! -Kidding of course- But I love showing all my friends and family what an affordable difference it has made for my hair! The only negative feedback I would give on Sheer Blonde would be that I hated the way it made my hair feel (texture) while the product was in my hair for that short period of time. But in saying that, it's worth putting up with that to have such a great end result! The hair that was treated almost a month ago has yet to fade back to its original color, (Thank goodness!) and I was so very pleased that this did not happen as I was anticipating! I will continue to recommend Sheer Blonde to EVERY blonde I know, and show them the proof on my phone! :)
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Go Blonder Controlled Lightening Spray
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Transform your look!

PostedJuly 17, 2011
Customer avatar
Yasmin
from Brazil
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Hair Colour:Brunette
Hair Length:Medium
Hair Concern:Damaged Hair
Hair Type:Dry
Used For:Under 1 year
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fragrance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Brightens Blonde 
3 / 5
3 / 5
User submitted photo
My hair was a light brown and I was looking for something to light up the color, give some lighter "shiny" for it. Then, I bought the spray and started to use on summer (sunny days, what contributed to the results).
First impressions: well, i applied on towel-dried hair, following the instructions. The smell is HORRIBLE! I sprayed all over it, carefully. Then I blow dried. I never seen such a terrible texture on my hair!!! So, the first impression wasn't good...
The first 2 times I used it, the color had lighten, but I think because of too much sun, it became a little orange... I continued to use. I stopped at the third application, 'cause my hair got really damaged. :( But the color was good!
Now, months after this "sequence" of uses, I got the color I ever wanted! It's worth the using! My hair is sensible because of the heat I use everyday, so damage wasn't a "surprise"....
Well, this product is GREAT. It gives the color you want, 'cause you can control it. But be aware that you'll have to take care a lot of your hair!!! And follow the instructions, it's very important. That's it! You can have a lighter color without using hair dye, but it will get reeeally dry if you don't moisturise carefully, after. :)
PS: I put a photo of "before and after" for you to see the results.
Recommended For: Normal Hair, Fine Hair, Natural Highlights, Straight Hair
Yes, I recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Tiffy
Georgia
 
Please wait while more information about Tiffy is loaded.
Additional information about Tiffy could not be loaded.
Posted July 24, 2011
I really really really want to try this, I have light/medium brown hair, and i've always wanted to go blonde... but your review, has inspired me to try it.. i'm scared aha
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 9 for Go Blonder Controlled Lightening Spray
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

DO NOT BUY UNDER ANY CIRCUMSTANCES!! SEVERELY DESTROYED MY HAIR

PostedAugust 10, 2011
Customer avatar
MorganB27
from Saint Paul, MN
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Hair Colour:Blonde
Hair Length:Long
Hair Concern:Other
Hair Type:Wavy
Used For:Under 1 year
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Fragrance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Brightens Blonde 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I bought the controlled lightening spray because I was excited about a product that would allow me more time between colorings. i also trusted John Frieda products because I have used the sheer blonde shampoo and conditioner for years. For those who reviewed this product after just a couple of uses: In the beginning, it seemed to be lightening my hair with kind of a 'sun in' effect and I was pleased. However, after I finished my first bottle of the product, my hair began to snap off at the roots/part, leaving only 1-2 inches of hair. I should have known better, the instructions say, "The more heat you use, the greater the lightening effects." Plus it contains hydrogen peroxide. Apparently, peroxide lightens the hair to a lighter shade by breaking down the melanin in the hair shaft. It also weakens the hair shaft, eventually leading to extreme breakage. This product has COMPLETELY destroyed my once long healthy blonde hair. Even after discontinuing use of this product a few months ago, my hair continued to snap off at the roots and I now have a mohawk for a part. :( I'm so incredibly sad because I'm not sure my hair will ever be what it was prior to using this product. I wish I would have never bought or trusted this product. STAY AWAY from it!!
No, I do not recommend this product.
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Go Blonder Controlled Lightening Spray
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Skip the Salon....Buy Sheer Blonde!!

PostedJuly 27, 2011
Customer avatar
Allison
from New Jersey
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Hair Colour:Blonde
Hair Length:Long
Hair Concern:Lack of Volume
Hair Type:Fine
Used For:1-2 years
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fragrance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Brightens Blonde 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I get my hair colored and highlighted every few months, and I hate when my roots start to show. I usually wait until the last minute to get my hair done, and by then my color has grown out and my roots are pretty dark.
A few months ago I was in need of a touch up, but couldn't find the time to get in for an appointment. I saw this spray in the store and decided to give it a try, I figured it could help lighten my roots a bit until my next hair appointment. After about a week of using it on my roots and some random strands of hair, I noticed a huge difference. My hair was definitely brighter and blonder, and everyone else noticed too! It didn't turn my hair brassy or red like some products, it really looked like I had gone to the salon for a touch up!!
Because my hair looks so great, I haven't even needed to go back to the salon yet, and it's been months since I've had it professionally done. The color change also last for a long time, once my hair got noticably blonder I haven't had to use it as frequently. I recommend this to all my friends, and it's one of my favorite products. My hair looks great, and I've saved so much money by using this instead of getting my hair colored in a salon!
 BrightestBlonde
Recommended For: Normal Hair, Colour or Heat-Damaged Hair, Fine Hair, Brassy Hair, Dull Hair, Natural Highlights, Wavy Hair, Curly Hair, Colour-Treated Hair, Straight Hair
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Go Blonder Controlled Lightening Spray
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

officially a blonde bombshell!

PostedOctober 5, 2011
Customer avatar
Liv17
from Indiana
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Hair Colour:Blonde
Hair Length:Medium
Hair Concern:Hair Health
Hair Type:Fine
Used For:1-2 years
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fragrance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Brightens Blonde 
5 / 5
5 / 5
i have naturally dark dirty blonde hair and i first had it bleached and since then i always just used powder lightener to make my hair a smidgen blonder. i found out about this spray and decided to give it a shot because i wanted to be blonder. (p.s. once you're a blonde you always want to be blonder!) i took a shower, towel dried my hair, sprayed that bad boy on my hair, and followed by blow drying and then flat ironing it. i was shocked that after about 4 uses i noticed my hair becoming incredibly lighter! yay, the color i had been trying to achieve without the harsh bleach! i kept using it and using it and i kept getting great results. i was very convinced that this product was the long lost little kick i needed to make my hair extranvagant. i love this product now, use it almost everyday. the only downside to it is once you've completed your styling for the day the smell of the spray kinda stays with your hair all day and it's not so pleasant but other than that it's faaaaantastic! and now i'm officially the blonde bombshell i always wanted to be! :) if you want to be a blonde without having to keep going to the salon you NEED to get this spray because it will change your life forever!
 BrightestBlonde
Recommended For: Normal Hair, Fine Hair, Brassy Hair, Dull Hair, Natural Highlights, Wavy Hair, Colour-Treated Hair, Straight Hair
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Go Blonder Controlled Lightening Spray
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Only use this for OVERALL blond, not highlights

PostedAugust 30, 2011
Customer avatar
MarinaGross
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fragrance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Brightens Blonde 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Let's start with the Pros: it does lighten really, really well. After three uses, the darker roots are much tolerable.
The more often you use it, the brighter it gets. The smell is fine, not great, but disappears once you blow dry it. You HAVE to apply heat for this to work.
This is a good product for somebody with OVERALL color, though.
Cons:
If you have highlights, I do not recommend this project as it screws up the nice defined color patterns in your hair. If you are a blond like me who gets regular salon visits and are very picky with the highlights, I wouldn't suggest you use this. The first in-between-salon-touch-ups I was really happy with this product. It allowed me to push my salon touch-up by 2 weeks. When you are a regular every 8 weeks kinda customer, 2 weeks buys you a lot of time.
However, I noticed after about 5 months that this overall approach to lighten up the roots was messing with my nice color pattern (highlights). It's hard to describe, but it was overall color. Doing only highlights with this is a pain (it tells you to use a comb, yeah right).
Summary:
if you use overall color, this is a GREAT product. For highlights, I don't recommend it, but it is worth a try.
 BrightestBlonde
Recommended For: Colour-Treated Hair, Straight Hair
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Go Blonder Controlled Lightening Spray
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

It really works!!

PostedJanuary 8, 2012
Customer avatar
Kristi2112
from Franklin Lakes, NJ
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Hair Colour:Blonde
Hair Length:Long
Hair Concern:Preserve/Enhance Colour
Hair Type:Wavy
Used For:1-2 years
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fragrance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Brightens Blonde 
5 / 5
5 / 5
So after reading these reviews online last night I decided to go purchase the product this afternoon. I just finished using it/ drying and straightening my hair and OMG it works! I have naturally very dark brown hair and am highlighted blonde. I just recently had my hair highlighted a few days ago but noticed some spots that were very brassy and some of my roots which were a little darker than i wanted. I used the Color Renew purple shampoo and the Go Blonder highlight spray and its like night and day. My roots went from too dark to beach blonde right before my eyes and it even eliminated some of the brassy tone. I could literally see the lightening of my hair before my eyes. It is subtle, which is nice since it is not dispensing any actual color, but just enough that it did exactly what I want after only one use. It also made my very broken hair feel beautifully silky. I will continue to use this product as needed and swear by it to keep me out of the salon for longer periods of time and keep my hair nourished and smooth. *** PS. Definitely use a straightener or curling iron to really see the difference immediately.
Recommended For: Dry Hair, Normal Hair, Colour or Heat-Damaged Hair, Brassy Hair, Natural Highlights, Wavy Hair, Colour-Treated Hair, Straight Hair
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Go Blonder Controlled Lightening Spray
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

A hair lightener that works!

PostedNovember 14, 2011
Customer avatar
Keely13
from KCMO
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Hair Colour:Blonde
Hair Length:Long
Hair Concern:Damaged Hair
Hair Type:Wavy
Used For:3-5 years
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fragrance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Brightens Blonde 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The smell isn't as bad as I thought it would be, having hydrogen peroxide in it. You definately want to use a hair masque or deep conditioner of some kind immediately after using this if possible. (Use heat-not the sun- this isn't lemon juice or chamomile) to use it I just wet my hair, spritzed my roots, combed it through a bit, then use a blow-dryer, followed by a hair straightener-all on my roots only. Then I just showered as normal and used deeeeep conditioners and hair oils. I am a naturally light blonde, but my hair does tend to get a tad ashy in the winter. I got this product to stretch out how long I could wait before I went back to the salon. So far I can actually tell a pretty decent difference and I have just used it once so far. The only real con I see at the moment is how much of it I went through already. I will probably only get another use or two if I am lucky out of this bottle and I am only doing my roots! But I think I will be satisfied by the time I am done with the second or third round after seeing how the first one went. :) Would definately recommend to a friend.
Recommended For: Normal Hair, Fine Hair, Dull Hair, Oily Hair, Wavy Hair, Natural Highlights, Curly Hair, Straight Hair
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Go Blonder Controlled Lightening Spray
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing product for natural Blondes when your sun kissed summer hair grows out in the winter months.

PostedJanuary 5, 2012
Customer avatar
Emmy24
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Hair Colour:Blonde
Hair Length:Long
Hair Concern:Hair Health
Hair Type:Straight
Used For:5+ years
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fragrance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Brightens Blonde 
5 / 5
5 / 5
As a natural blonde my hair will lighten significantly during the summer months due to the sun, i'm talking bleach blonde natural highlights, which I do love. However, during the long and cold winter months, I lose that sun kissed brightness and when my hair starts growing out it looks like I have roots. Not no more! Thanks to the Go Blonder Controlled lightening spray I can easily take my new growth to that all natural I've been laying the sun all day look! It never turns your hair a brassy or red color like other products similar to it do. You can easily control how light you want to go and if you accidentally spray a little too much on don't worry about it, this product won't bleach your hair immediately. But if that is what you are looking for after 3-4 uses applying it very liberally you should reach that platinum blonde level. And don't worry about it growing out, it fades gradually into your hair color and when you feel that you are look a little dull, just spray it in and blow dry/straighten your hair back to that brighter sun kissed blonde you love so much!
Recommended For: Normal Hair, Brassy Hair, Dull Hair, Natural Highlights, Colour-Treated Hair
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Go Blonder Controlled Lightening Spray
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

It really works if you want to enhance your natural color

PostedAugust 21, 2014
Customer avatar
Evie
from Europe
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Hair Colour:Blonde
Hair Length:Long
Used For:Under 1 year
Please tell us how you most recently received the product:I purchased from the store or online.
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fragrance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Brightens Blonde 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
I have always had natural dark blond hair (well, the color is difficult to define - something like honey/straw/cooper blond), and liked that a lot. When I have recently noticed that my hair is loosing the natural lightness and becoming a tad darker and more to the gray shade side, I decided to look for something to enhance the color. I have bought shampoo, balsam and spray. While shampoo and balsam are nice, I did not notice immediate change.
However, the spray did what it was advertised. I usually do not color my hair, nor use hair-dryers, so they are quite healthy. After using 3 times as advised, the hair shade became lighter. My hair stylist did not find any hair damage and agreed that the lighter color suits me better than the one growing back. However now I am wondering how to refresh color on the roots. While the color difference is not very pronounced and I would not advice to lighten dark hair or roots, it works great to accent your natural color.
The photo shows difference between the freshly grown hair at the root (several cm) and lighter downwards.
Recommended For: Normal Hair, Oily Hair, Natural Highlights, Wavy Hair, Straight Hair
Yes, I recommend this product.
 
Products related to my review
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Go Blonder Controlled Lightening Spray
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

it does work, but wouldn't recommend it.

PostedJuly 18, 2012
Customer avatar
taroyogurt
from Berkeley, CA
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Hair Colour:Blonde
Hair Length:Short
Hair Concern:Preserve/Enhance Colour
Hair Type:Straight
Used For:Under 1 year
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Fragrance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Brightens Blonde 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have black hair that's been bleached and colored to a dark brassy blonde. I've been using it a couple of times in the last 1+ month and there's a noticeable difference - the spray created natural-looking, obviously lightened highlights on the top layer of my hair where I sprayed and applied heat. But now there's barely any spray left in the bottle (I have thick, chin-length hair). If I still had my long hair, I think it would take 1/2 the bottle for one application, and it takes several applications to make a difference. In order to activate the product, I had to blow-dry and use a flat-iron, and although the product is a heat protectant I felt like the process damaged my hair more than bleaching highlights or dying with light blonde dye did. Because you have to use a lot of heat styling to activate the product, I wouldn't recommend it for damaged hair, and because the bottle is small and a lot of applications are needed, I would not recommend it for hair that is naturally thick in volume.
Recommended For: Normal Hair, Fine Hair, Natural Highlights, Colour-Treated Hair
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Go Blonder Controlled Lightening Spray
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Don't use this product....Please!

PostedDecember 5, 2012
Customer avatar
candygurl315
from Virginia
Age:Under 18
Gender:Female
Hair Colour:Blonde
Hair Length:Long
Hair Concern:Damaged Hair
Hair Type:Fine
Used For:Under 1 year
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Fragrance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Brightens Blonde 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I've had natural blonde hair most of my life, but it's slowly faded into a light brown. I read the reviews before I bought this product. I saw the bad reviews saying thing like, "My hair is ruined!" or "John Frieda killed my hair" but I didn't listen and bought it anyways. After 13 uses it barely lightened my blonde. Yes, I was blow drying my hair with the product in because it is supposed too be heat activated. I regret using this spray so much! My hair isn't completely ruined, but there is no way to fix the damage done to it! I have to wait until my hair grows out again, and it's going too take years to fix. When my hair is wet it feels gummy and I can't brush it until it dries. When it dries it obviously looks like there is something wrong with my hair. It crinkly and rough. It wasn't worth the blonde for this damage. I've tried resoration kits and treatments, but I just have to accept the facts that it isn't going to get better. Please, If your love your hair don't use this product!
 BrightestBlonde
No, I do not recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Go Blonder Controlled Lightening Spray
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great for color, but it stinks...

PostedAugust 3, 2011
Customer avatar
atreecalledlife
from NH
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Hair Colour:Brunette
Hair Length:Short
Hair Concern:Hair Health
Hair Type:Wavy
Used For:Under 1 year
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fragrance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Brightens Blonde 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My natural hair color is mostly a light chestnut brown, mixed with natural bleach blonde & golden highlights. I haven't dyed my hair in years, and read that this product was not for dark brown hair, but I figured I'd give it a try since mine is light. I also used this in conjunction with the Go Blonder Shampoo & Conditioner. I blow dry and flat iron my hair after every shower because of the style. My hair was noticeably lighter after one use. I wash my hair every 2-3 days because I I don't want to dry it out with styling tools. After 3 washes, everyone was commenting on how light my hair was. They thought I was spending a lot of time in the sun and that my hair had naturally lightened! I like this product, but feel the spray needs a better thermo protectant because even after waiting a while in between washes, and using a second conditioner (Redken All Soft) my hair seems dry from this product. Also, it stinks and when I hug friends they've commented on it.
Recommended For: Normal Hair, Natural Highlights
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Go Blonder Controlled Lightening Spray
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Keeps the roots away and blondes brighter!

PostedAugust 1, 2011
Customer avatar
Ashley
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fragrance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Brightens Blonde 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I saw this product in a magazine in May and thought that I would give it a try. I am in love. I have dark brown hair and normally can not last more then 6 weeks without having to get my roots done. With this product, somehow, it makes my roots less noticeable and makes my highlight brighter and more natural looking then the orange/brassy look you can get by highlighting your hair and having such a dark natural color. My mother is a stylist and has been recommending this product to her highlighted clients, and they love it too! I use the lighting spray about 3 to 4 times a week and pair it up with the blonder shampoo and conditioner, which I use about 3 to 4 times a week as well. I apply a few squirts around my temples and part and some along the back of my head, that is all you need! As I said, I have bought this product in May and it is now August and am just about at the end of my bottle-- it lasted me over 3 months! Love love love this product, try it!
 BrightestBlonde
Recommended For: Natural Highlights, Colour-Treated Hair
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
12345...17next>>