John Frieda Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At John Frieda
Shop Stylers & Finishers or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for John Frieda Go Blonder Controlled Lightening Spray

John Frieda Go Blonder Controlled Lightening Spray

  • Versatile, patent-pending formula with citrus and chamomile works with styling heat to gradually lighten and brighten for a natural-looking, blonder blonde. Contains thermo-protectant. Patent-pending technology combines fixative and conditioning polymers that retain hydrogen peroxide, allowing for control of lightening. Visibly lightens in 3-5 uses.
Overall rating:
4.531 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(337 reviews) 337
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 337 reviews
5 stars
260
4 stars
45
3 stars
5
2 stars
5
1 star
22
306 out of 337(91%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Go Blonder Controlled Lightening Spray
Review 1 for Go Blonder Controlled Lightening Spray
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

DO NOT USE- RUINS HAIR

PostedJuly 25, 2014
Customer avatar
Disappointedblonde
from Sacramento, CA
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Hair Colour:Blonde
Hair Length:Long
Hair Concern:Damaged Hair
Hair Type:Straight
Used For:1-2 years
Please tell us how you most recently received the product:I purchased from the store or online.
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Fragrance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Brightens Blonde 
1 / 5
1 / 5
DO NOT BUY THIS PRODUCT!!!!! It ruined my hair!! My hair has been silky and shiny my whole life (even dying it all the time and only using drug store products) I bought this to lighten my roots in between highlights and it ruined my hair completely. the parts where i used actual bleach on my hair are fine. The spots where I used john frida lightening spray are broken off or even worse it creates this frizzy mess where it looks like i've used a tiny crimper on my hair. I've done tons of deep conditioning treatments and reconstructors and nothing helps :/ the worst part is all the damage is at the top and middle of my hair strands so i can't cut it off . Please DO NOT BUY THIS PRODUCT.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Go Blonder Controlled Lightening Spray
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Brightens hair, but not worth it

PostedDecember 26, 2013
Customer avatar
Col71
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Hair Colour:Blonde
Hair Length:Medium
Hair Concern:Damaged Hair
Hair Type:Straight
Used For:Under 1 year
Please tell us how you most recently received the product:A friend or family member gave it to me.
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Fragrance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Brightens Blonde 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I began using this product when I was 18 and a freshmen in college, and I had never dyed my hair before, so I thought this was a good way to make my dirty blond hair look a little bit brighter. I only used the spray a few times, and the top of my hair looked a lot lighter within 2 weeks. However, when I decided to use the spray again about 6 months later, I noticed that I was getting too blond (almost orange) and my hair was beginning to break at the roots. Within a month of my last usage, my hair had thinned completely and I had short pieces of hair at the top of my head. I could not wear my hair down comfortably for several months because it was way too thin. I am now 21, and my hair is still very damaged and much thinner than it was before I started using this product. I still have been unable to dye my hair. I do not recommend this product at all. It is successful in making hair lighter, but the years of damage are not worth it.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Go Blonder Controlled Lightening Spray
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Please do not use!!

PostedJuly 31, 2013
Customer avatar
Lilyfrog1025
from Apple valley, ca
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Hair Colour:Blonde
Hair Length:Long
Hair Concern:Damaged Hair
Hair Type:Straight
Used For:Under 1 year
Please tell us how you most recently received the product:I purchased from the store or online.
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Fragrance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Brightens Blonde 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I started using this to deal with roots in between dying my dirty blonde hair platinum blonde. It worked very well for a month or two and then the third month hit and my hair became over processed. I now have hair at the top of my head that has broken off in three places at about an inch long. The hair that didn't break off is coarse and damaged where I sprayed this spray. Thank goodness I only sprayed where I part my hair! I have been able to cover it by parting my hair further over but it is definitely thinner at the top and almost impossible to brush when wet, I can promise you my hair dye did not cause this as I go to a salon and have never experienced this problem before.
 BrightestBlonde
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Go Blonder Controlled Lightening Spray
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

works, but you'll regret it

PostedJune 8, 2013
Customer avatar
Christmas1342
Age:Under 18
Gender:Female
Hair Colour:Blonde
Hair Length:Long
Hair Concern:Damaged Hair
Hair Type:Wavy
Used For:1-2 years
Please tell us how you most recently received the product:I purchased from the store or online.
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Fragrance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Brightens Blonde 
5 / 5
5 / 5
All my life I've had absolutely gorgeous thick, wavy, long hair. Everyone has always been jealous of my hair, and it's always been my favorite feature on myself. The only thing I was always unhappy about was that when I was younger, my hair used to be very light blonde, but as I got older, it darkened to a dark dirty blonde/light brown. So two years ago, I found this product and excitedly began using it. It worked amazingly, and for awhile I had the perfectly golden locks I'd always wanted. However, after about a year, my mom told me she'd noticed my hair getting dryer and thinner. I didn't want to admit it to myself, wanting to think my hair would stay perfect, and so I kept using this product. But in the last year, the damage has become so evident I cannot deny it any longer. I've lost 2/3 of my hair, and the 1/3 I have left is full of split ends and has broken off in random places. I can't put my hair up without random shorter locks hanging out all over the place because they've broken off. I can't even let it dry naturally after taking a bath because it dries frizzy and horrible, looking like a lion's mane (not over-exaggerating). I look at old pictures or videos of myself and how beautiful my hair used to be. I've come to Hate doing my hair in the morning or at night because it makes me cry to look at how dry and destroyed it is in a mirror. Trust me, you may be happy using this product in the beginning, but it is a terrible mistake you do not want to make. This summer I've decided to cut over half my hair off, to just below my shoulders, and I have to dye it back to the color of my roots. Hopefully it will grow back out thicker by next school year. On top of that, I've been taking hair vitamins, and I have to do hair treatments twice a week with coconut oil and a hair cap overnight. My hair is slooooowly getting thicker at the top, but it nothing like it used to be. My mother constantly tells me she can't believe what I've done to my hair. Please, for your own sake, never start using this product. I feel so much less beautiful without my gorgeous hair :(
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
5of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Lara
Madison, WI
 
Please wait while more information about Lara is loaded.
Additional information about Lara could not be loaded.
moderation and caution are the keys!
Posted July 7, 2013
I've been using this product for almost two years now and my hair is as gorgeous as it was before, just always sun-kissed as it naturally is during the summer. I think the key is moderation and caution! I use it only 2 times for my roots every 3-4 months. I can only imagine what it can do if you use it every day! I guess precisely what you've described. If you want to radically change your hair color, not just make it a bit lighter, then go to the salon!
+1point
1of 1voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 5 for Go Blonder Controlled Lightening Spray
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

DO NOT USE, DO NOT USE

PostedMarch 9, 2013
Customer avatar
bagpipes1
Hair Concern:Damaged Hair
Hair Type:Straight
Please tell us how you most recently received the product:I purchased from the store or online.
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Fragrance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Brightens Blonde 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I had used this product for several months to get my hair blonder during the winter. This past week I went to get highlights (blonde). DON'T EVER EVER EVER GET HIGHLIGHTS AFTER USING THIS PRODUCT. This product melted away my hair that I got highlights on and thanks this product am going to have to go to get deep conditioning treatment twice a week for a month..... PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE, DO NOT USE THIS PRODUCT. It will ruin your hair if you get highlights and legit melt your hair away. I now have white pieces that are 1/3 the length of bangs..
No, I do not recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Go Blonder Controlled Lightening Spray
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Don't use this product....Please!

PostedDecember 5, 2012
Customer avatar
candygurl315
from Virginia
Age:Under 18
Gender:Female
Hair Colour:Blonde
Hair Length:Long
Hair Concern:Damaged Hair
Hair Type:Fine
Used For:Under 1 year
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Fragrance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Brightens Blonde 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I've had natural blonde hair most of my life, but it's slowly faded into a light brown. I read the reviews before I bought this product. I saw the bad reviews saying thing like, "My hair is ruined!" or "John Frieda killed my hair" but I didn't listen and bought it anyways. After 13 uses it barely lightened my blonde. Yes, I was blow drying my hair with the product in because it is supposed too be heat activated. I regret using this spray so much! My hair isn't completely ruined, but there is no way to fix the damage done to it! I have to wait until my hair grows out again, and it's going too take years to fix. When my hair is wet it feels gummy and I can't brush it until it dries. When it dries it obviously looks like there is something wrong with my hair. It crinkly and rough. It wasn't worth the blonde for this damage. I've tried resoration kits and treatments, but I just have to accept the facts that it isn't going to get better. Please, If your love your hair don't use this product!
 BrightestBlonde
No, I do not recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Go Blonder Controlled Lightening Spray
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Turns your hair orange, NOT pretty blonde

PostedJuly 27, 2012
Customer avatar
EllenS89
Gender:Female
Hair Colour:Blonde
Hair Length:Medium
Hair Type:Wavy
Used For:Under 1 year
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Fragrance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Brightens Blonde 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This was recommended by a friend who had only used it for a couple weeks, and was very happy with the results... at first. I took her advice and I purchased the whole collection of Go Blonder to try to get the best results. I used as directed on the bottle. At first i didn't see it do much, but after a few days i was happy to see my roots turn lighter. (I usually will get highlights every 6 months so at first i was happy to see my roots get lighter during the in between times i am not highlighting my hair.) After using this product a month, it turned ORANGE and more of a strawberry blonde than the ideal color i was hoping for. Even worse to add to this i recently wanted to get highlights again because i though i could just cover up the more orange color then it would have multiple colors which would end up looking okay. When i went to my hair salon and i told my hairdresser what i had used, she just shook her head, and refused to do my highlights or even low lights, because it will turn EVERYTHING orange then in your hair. So now i have to use a cleanser in my hair for a month to try to strip the Go Blonder spray out of my hair before i am able to get highlights done again that will not turn orange. If you are looking for an orange blonde then this is for you, if you are not, then STAY AWAY FROM THIS. (My friend has also stopped using the product because she had the same issues).
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
4of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer avatar
suzyqhowru
colorado
 
Please wait while more information about suzyqhowru is loaded.
Additional information about suzyqhowru could not be loaded.
turns your hair orange not pretty blonde
Posted April 19, 2013
hi there. I am curious what color your natural hair color is. if it is highlighted to blond then what is your natural color? remember depending what other color you have on your hair it can react like a chemical rx.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Customer avatar
redblonde
Northern Virginia
 
Please wait while more information about redblonde is loaded.
Additional information about redblonde could not be loaded.
Turned my hair strawberry red/RED
Posted August 8, 2012
It also turned my hair strawberry red and really red in the darker areas. I am a natural blonde and have my hair highlighted. I was in between highlights and had shoulder surgery so I used this to get by before I could get back to the salon. Now, I have to spend tons of money getting rid of this horrible reddish color and am now a yellow gold blonde which I don't like either until we can finally get me back to my normal ash blonde with really nice highlights!! My son is getting married in a couple of months and I am so scared my hair won't be back to normal by then. This is causing damage to my hair and pocket book, just from using it one time!! No one with colored hair should use this product!
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Comments (2)
Read comments (2)
Review 8 for Go Blonder Controlled Lightening Spray
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

This product has no great features

PostedJuly 3, 2012
Customer avatar
HOLAGRRL
from Westchester County, NY
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Hair Colour:Black
Hair Length:Long
Hair Concern:Frizz Control
Hair Type:Straight
Used For:1-2 years
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Fragrance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Brightens Blonde 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This product doesn't make your hair blond—it makes your hair yellow!!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer avatar
Susannah
Dayton, OH
 
Please wait while more information about Susannah is loaded.
Additional information about Susannah could not be loaded.
Reviewer with black hair: why it didn't work
Posted July 8, 2012
If you look at the bottle, it tells users; "NOT SUITABLE FOR USE ON MEDIUM BROWN OR DARKER SHADES OF HAIR." So really your hair should not be brunette (medium brown like mine) or black. If you want blond hair and your hair is dark brown or black, you need to see a professional stylist. You've got to bleach your hair, and it's not for the amateur to try. Back in the day, we had Sun-In and my hair and my friend's hair (she had dark brown hair) turned orange and it continued to work each time we washed and dried. You had to cut it out to get rid of it. Not cool.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Customer avatar
Jane
 
Please wait while more information about Jane is loaded.
Additional information about Jane could not be loaded.
black hair?
Posted July 6, 2012
that's because your hair is black...do you really expect a spray to turn you blonde?
+2points
2of 2voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Comments (2)
Read comments (2)
Review 9 for Go Blonder Controlled Lightening Spray
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Save Your Money

PostedMay 10, 2012
Customer avatar
Carly
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Hair Colour:Blonde
Hair Length:Long
Hair Concern:Frizz Control
Hair Type:Straight
Used For:Under 1 year
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Fragrance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Brightens Blonde 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I get my highlights touched up about every 6-8 weeks which can sometimes get pretty pricey. So, instead of going to the salon, I decided to give the lightening spray a try. The smell is tolerable, but one thing I noticed is where I accidentally touched the spray with my fingertips while combing through my hair, my skin actually dried up and started peeling away. That should have been my first sign not to use it, but I did anyways. After about 2-3 uses, I will admit that it actually touched up my roots completely, but after the 4th use, my hair became an awful brassy color. Now, I have no choice but to go to the salon and have them try and fix this hideous color my hair turned because of the spray. Lesson learned: don't take the cheap/easy way out.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Go Blonder Controlled Lightening Spray
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Damaging!

PostedApril 9, 2012
Customer avatar
zopta3
from New York
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Hair Colour:Blonde
Hair Length:Long
Hair Concern:Hair Health
Hair Type:Dry
Used For:5+ years
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Fragrance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Brightens Blonde 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I love John Frieda products but the Controlled Lightening Spray ia awful. I used as directed and only on my roots and I am naturally medium blonde. I used it a couple of times and now my hair is very gummy and breakage nearface and crown.
 BrightestBlonde
No, I do not recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Go Blonder Controlled Lightening Spray
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

If you dye your hair BEWARE!!

PostedMarch 19, 2012
Customer avatar
Alismom
from NY
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Hair Colour:Blonde
Hair Length:Medium
Hair Concern:Damaged Hair
Hair Type:Wavy
Used For:Under 1 year
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Fragrance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Brightens Blonde 
4 / 5
4 / 5
If you plan on dying your hair after using this a few times or more, beware!! I did not know that my hair would literally snap off wherever the spray had been so now I'm left with literally a disaster. I had to buy wigs the disaster is so bad. There is no warning not to dye over this spray. I conditioned my hair a lot so the texture was fine but you must not dye over this product or you could lose your hair like I did. I have been dying and highlighting my hair for many years and when I tell you nothing like this has ever happened to me -- NEVER. Devasted.
 BrightestBlonde
No, I do not recommend this product.
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
eck3
Forest Hill, Maryland
 
Please wait while more information about eck3 is loaded.
Additional information about eck3 could not be loaded.
Posted April 25, 2012
I can't say enough about this product. Since I started using it over a year ago, I have not needed to get my hair professionally colored. I get asked at least once a week where I get my hair done and when I tell people what I use they are blown away that my hair is not done at a salon. I love, love, love this hair lightner and will never go back to having my hair colored again at a salon. I feel like I'm a walking advertisement for John Frieda.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 12 for Go Blonder Controlled Lightening Spray
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

WILL KILL YOUR HAIR!!!

PostedDecember 30, 2011
Customer avatar
klaus84
from New Carlisle, OH
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Hair Colour:Other
Hair Length:Medium
Hair Concern:Damaged Hair
Hair Type:Wavy
Used For:5+ years
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Fragrance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Brightens Blonde 
5 / 5
5 / 5
At first I LOVED this product but after a few uses my hair became damaged beyond repair. It broke my hair off and made it feel gummy, I will have to wait until my hair grows back out. It made my hair feel like a brillo pad. Please don't use this product! You will love it at first but I promise that you will regret it!
No, I do not recommend this product.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Go Blonder Controlled Lightening Spray
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Please read this review

PostedDecember 10, 2011
Customer avatar
CarolineH10
from Anderson, SC
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Hair Colour:Blonde
Hair Length:Medium
Hair Concern:Damaged Hair
Hair Type:Wavy
Used For:3-5 years
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Fragrance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Brightens Blonde 
3 / 5
3 / 5
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
At first, this product seems like a miracle product. The perfect solution to grown-out roots between color. However, when using it over an extended period of time it absolutely destroys your hair. I've always had a reasonably healthy head of hair. Now my hair is damaged beyond repair thanks to using this product. The places where I've used the product have grown out and it has visibly dried and "kinked-up" that particular section of hair. When my hair is wet, I can run a brush through it and the sections where I've applied the product curl up like running scissors down a strand of ribbon. That is what this product does to your hair. Please take my advice! I can only wait for my hair to grow out now! This is going to take years to fix!
No, I do not recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
babyblonde85
Iowa
 
Please wait while more information about babyblonde85 is loaded.
Additional information about babyblonde85 could not be loaded.
Posted December 14, 2011
I totally agree with you. When I first started to use this it was great but after a while my hair was getting very weak. When my hair is wet now it acts like spider webs, its so delicate and breaks so easily. I just recently went to the salon and they couldn't believe how bad it was. I have chunks of hair that broke off about 2" from my scalp on the sides of my temples. I used to have long healthy hair and they had to chop it off to save what they could. I now use Redken Extreme and my hair is getting back to normal. I will NEVER use this product again!
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 14 for Go Blonder Controlled Lightening Spray
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Fried my hair

PostedDecember 8, 2011
Customer avatar
Megs
from Tx
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Hair Colour:Blonde
Hair Length:Long
Hair Concern:Damaged Hair
Hair Type:Normal
Used For:Under 1 year
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Fragrance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Brightens Blonde 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I used this product and my hair started breaking off. I had long hair and now I have bangs that super short and my hair is still breaking off!
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Go Blonder Controlled Lightening Spray
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

WARNING

PostedOctober 24, 2011
Customer avatar
Cassi
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Hair Colour:Blonde
Hair Length:Short
Hair Concern:Hair Health
Hair Type:Curly
Used For:Under 1 year
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Fragrance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Brightens Blonde 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Although this product does definitely lighten hair it absolutely FRIED my hair. My hair has shrivled up and is absolutely crispy now. I would never recommend this product to anyone who wanted to have healthy or decently healthy hair!!
Recommended For: Straight Hair
No, I do not recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Go Blonder Controlled Lightening Spray
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Just Go to a Salon

PostedOctober 2, 2011
Customer avatar
kristianlynn
from Alabama
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Hair Colour:Brunette
Hair Length:Medium
Hair Concern:Damaged Hair
Hair Type:Coarse
Used For:1-2 years
Fragrance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Brightens Blonde 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I bought this product in the hopes it would reduce the amount of times I went to the salon. The product worked fro a very short amount of time, but now my hair is comletely ruined!! It is damaged all in the roots of my hair all in the part area! I would recommend you either pay the money for the salon or just have roots because this product is not worth the damage it will do to your hair!
No, I do not recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Britta67
San Francisco, CA
 
Please wait while more information about Britta67 is loaded.
Additional information about Britta67 could not be loaded.
same here
Posted October 4, 2011
i experienced the same and just wished i had read the reviews before using this product. thank you for sharing.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 17 for Go Blonder Controlled Lightening Spray
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

DO NOT BUY UNDER ANY CIRCUMSTANCES!! SEVERELY DESTROYED MY HAIR

PostedAugust 10, 2011
Customer avatar
MorganB27
from Saint Paul, MN
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Hair Colour:Blonde
Hair Length:Long
Hair Concern:Other
Hair Type:Wavy
Used For:Under 1 year
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Fragrance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Brightens Blonde 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I bought the controlled lightening spray because I was excited about a product that would allow me more time between colorings. i also trusted John Frieda products because I have used the sheer blonde shampoo and conditioner for years. For those who reviewed this product after just a couple of uses: In the beginning, it seemed to be lightening my hair with kind of a 'sun in' effect and I was pleased. However, after I finished my first bottle of the product, my hair began to snap off at the roots/part, leaving only 1-2 inches of hair. I should have known better, the instructions say, "The more heat you use, the greater the lightening effects." Plus it contains hydrogen peroxide. Apparently, peroxide lightens the hair to a lighter shade by breaking down the melanin in the hair shaft. It also weakens the hair shaft, eventually leading to extreme breakage. This product has COMPLETELY destroyed my once long healthy blonde hair. Even after discontinuing use of this product a few months ago, my hair continued to snap off at the roots and I now have a mohawk for a part. :( I'm so incredibly sad because I'm not sure my hair will ever be what it was prior to using this product. I wish I would have never bought or trusted this product. STAY AWAY from it!!
No, I do not recommend this product.
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Go Blonder Controlled Lightening Spray
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

awful product.

PostedJuly 21, 2011
Customer avatar
Emma221
Age:Under 18
Gender:Female
Hair Colour:Blonde
Hair Length:Medium
Hair Concern:Preserve/Enhance Colour
Hair Type:Dry
Used For:Under 1 year
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Fragrance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Brightens Blonde 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This product has ruined my hair. I regret using it so much. I was a dirty blonde when I began using this product and now I am a orangey/strawberry blonde. It's is awful. For the first few times i loved it! Then it began to put this orange tint but I thought it wouldn't get worse. Two more uses...even more orange. I would not ever ever recommend the product. For the people it worked for you are very lucky.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Go Blonder Controlled Lightening Spray
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

dont waste your money

PostedJuly 17, 2011
Customer avatar
buzzard
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Hair Colour:Blonde
Hair Length:Short
Used it and for the first 2 times worked and looked great..After a couple more "little" squirts later my hair turned orangey and brassey. Unfortunately my daughter bought it too and it did the same to her. Very Unhappy at $8 a pop to waste it all.Going to the garage sale pile or down the drain! Just be WARNED!
No, I do not recommend this product.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Go Blonder Controlled Lightening Spray
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Broke my hair

PostedJuly 11, 2011
Customer avatar
Laurie
I used this product and it did lighten my hair, but then my hair broke at my part It is now about an inch long while the rest of my hair is past my shoulders I am no longer able to get highlights because of the current damage to my hair
No, I do not recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
12345...17next>>