John Frieda Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At John Frieda
Shop Stylers & Finishers or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for John Frieda Go Blonder Controlled Lightening Spray

John Frieda Go Blonder Controlled Lightening Spray

  • Versatile, patent-pending formula with citrus and chamomile works with styling heat to gradually lighten and brighten for a natural-looking, blonder blonde. Contains thermo-protectant. Patent-pending technology combines fixative and conditioning polymers that retain hydrogen peroxide, allowing for control of lightening. Visibly lightens in 3-5 uses.
Overall rating:
4.53 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(336 reviews) 336
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 336 reviews
5 stars
259
4 stars
45
3 stars
5
2 stars
5
1 star
22
305 out of 336(91%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Go Blonder Controlled Lightening Spray
Review 1 for Go Blonder Controlled Lightening Spray
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

AMAZING!!

PostedFebruary 4, 2012
Customer avatar
Rachel930
from East Windsor, NJ
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Hair Colour:Blonde
Hair Length:Medium
Hair Concern:Preserve/Enhance Colour
Hair Type:Fine
Used For:5+ years
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fragrance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Brightens Blonde 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Because I am allergic to hair dye, I have to get highlights in my hair to keep the color I want. My hair grows very quickly, so my roots are often showing a couple weeks after getting my highlights done. I bought this product to try to lighten up my roots, and it is the best purchase I've made in years. In just 2 uses I saw a significant change and lightening of my hair. Now, after 4 uses, you can barely tell where my highlights blend in with my roots. Best product I've ever purchased.
Recommended For: Normal Hair, Split Ends, Dry Hair, Colour or Heat-Damaged Hair, Moderate Frizz, Fine Hair, Brassy Hair, Coarse Hair, Chronic Frizz, Dull Hair, Oily Hair, Natural Highlights, Wavy Hair, Curly Hair, Colour-Treated Hair, Straight Hair, Brittle or Broken Hair
Yes, I recommend this product.
+6points
14of 22voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Go Blonder Controlled Lightening Spray
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Controlled Lightening Spray

PostedJanuary 26, 2012
Customer avatar
Turtle
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fragrance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Brightens Blonde 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I LOVE all the John Frieda Products, but The Sheer Blonde Controlled Lightening Spray really impressed me. I have been coloring my hair for 35 years and now that I am older I find that my color looks washed out after a few shampoos. But by spraying on the controlled lightening spray and blow drying my hair, it seems to bring my color back to life. I would recommend this product to anyone who has the same problem as me. It makes you feel like you've had your hair colored all over again. Great product!!
 BrightestBlonde
Recommended For: Normal Hair, Dull Hair, Natural Highlights, Grey Coverage, Wavy Hair, Colour-Treated Hair, Straight Hair
Yes, I recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Arielle
Maui, Hawaii
 
Please wait while more information about Arielle is loaded.
Additional information about Arielle could not be loaded.
Does this work on grey/white/silver root outgrowth
Posted November 12, 2013
So, does this work on the grey/white/silver ROOT outgrowth that comes after about 1 month to 6 weeks after coloring? With my hair, it's not really lightening the dark roots because they're not dark anymore, just a different color.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 3 for Go Blonder Controlled Lightening Spray
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

It really works if you want to enhance your natural color

PostedAugust 21, 2014
Customer avatar
Evie
from Europe
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Hair Colour:Blonde
Hair Length:Long
Used For:Under 1 year
Please tell us how you most recently received the product:I purchased from the store or online.
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fragrance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Brightens Blonde 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
I have always had natural dark blond hair (well, the color is difficult to define - something like honey/straw/cooper blond), and liked that a lot. When I have recently noticed that my hair is loosing the natural lightness and becoming a tad darker and more to the gray shade side, I decided to look for something to enhance the color. I have bought shampoo, balsam and spray. While shampoo and balsam are nice, I did not notice immediate change.
However, the spray did what it was advertised. I usually do not color my hair, nor use hair-dryers, so they are quite healthy. After using 3 times as advised, the hair shade became lighter. My hair stylist did not find any hair damage and agreed that the lighter color suits me better than the one growing back. However now I am wondering how to refresh color on the roots. While the color difference is not very pronounced and I would not advice to lighten dark hair or roots, it works great to accent your natural color.
The photo shows difference between the freshly grown hair at the root (several cm) and lighter downwards.
Recommended For: Normal Hair, Oily Hair, Natural Highlights, Wavy Hair, Straight Hair
Yes, I recommend this product.
 
Products related to my review
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Go Blonder Controlled Lightening Spray
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Product!

PostedAugust 19, 2014
Customer avatar
avictoria97
from Michigan
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Hair Colour:Brunette
Hair Length:Long
Hair Concern:Other
Hair Type:Wavy
Used For:1-2 years
Please tell us how you most recently received the product:I purchased from the store or online.
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fragrance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Brightens Blonde 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This product is great I have brown hair naturally and this paired with the lightening shampoo and conditioner has made my hair a dark blonde. I get a lot of compliments about my hair, and get asked where I get my highlights done! Really love this product it makes my hair brighter and lighter!
Recommended For: Normal Hair, Brassy Hair, Dull Hair, Natural Highlights, Colour-Treated Hair
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Go Blonder Controlled Lightening Spray
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

DO NOT USE- RUINS HAIR

PostedJuly 25, 2014
Customer avatar
Disappointedblonde
from Sacramento, CA
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Hair Colour:Blonde
Hair Length:Long
Hair Concern:Damaged Hair
Hair Type:Straight
Used For:1-2 years
Please tell us how you most recently received the product:I purchased from the store or online.
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Fragrance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Brightens Blonde 
1 / 5
1 / 5
DO NOT BUY THIS PRODUCT!!!!! It ruined my hair!! My hair has been silky and shiny my whole life (even dying it all the time and only using drug store products) I bought this to lighten my roots in between highlights and it ruined my hair completely. the parts where i used actual bleach on my hair are fine. The spots where I used john frida lightening spray are broken off or even worse it creates this frizzy mess where it looks like i've used a tiny crimper on my hair. I've done tons of deep conditioning treatments and reconstructors and nothing helps :/ the worst part is all the damage is at the top and middle of my hair strands so i can't cut it off . Please DO NOT BUY THIS PRODUCT.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Go Blonder Controlled Lightening Spray
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Simple, easy to use.

PostedJune 9, 2014
Customer avatar
LauraSue888
from Tucson AZ
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Hair Colour:Blonde
Hair Length:Short
Hair Concern:Lack of Volume
Hair Type:Straight
Used For:1-2 years
Please tell us how you most recently received the product:I purchased from the store or online.
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fragrance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Brightens Blonde 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
I am 60 years old and a natural blonde. My hair has yet to go grey, and I'm suspecting that it won't. I love how John Frieda's Go Blonder brightens up my hair! My daughter comments on how light my hair is looking these days. It is, and it's gorgeous!
Recommended For: Natural Highlights
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Go Blonder Controlled Lightening Spray
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Brightens hair, but not worth it

PostedDecember 26, 2013
Customer avatar
Col71
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Hair Colour:Blonde
Hair Length:Medium
Hair Concern:Damaged Hair
Hair Type:Straight
Used For:Under 1 year
Please tell us how you most recently received the product:A friend or family member gave it to me.
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Fragrance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Brightens Blonde 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I began using this product when I was 18 and a freshmen in college, and I had never dyed my hair before, so I thought this was a good way to make my dirty blond hair look a little bit brighter. I only used the spray a few times, and the top of my hair looked a lot lighter within 2 weeks. However, when I decided to use the spray again about 6 months later, I noticed that I was getting too blond (almost orange) and my hair was beginning to break at the roots. Within a month of my last usage, my hair had thinned completely and I had short pieces of hair at the top of my head. I could not wear my hair down comfortably for several months because it was way too thin. I am now 21, and my hair is still very damaged and much thinner than it was before I started using this product. I still have been unable to dye my hair. I do not recommend this product at all. It is successful in making hair lighter, but the years of damage are not worth it.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Go Blonder Controlled Lightening Spray
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic way to extend highlights

PostedAugust 9, 2013
Customer avatar
Gracie
from Atlanta, GA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Hair Colour:Blonde
Hair Length:Medium
Hair Concern:Lack of Volume
Hair Type:Fine
Used For:Under 1 year
Please tell us how you most recently received the product:I received a free sample from John Frieda® Hair Care.
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fragrance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Brightens Blonde 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I spend a great deal of money to make my Scandinavian light blonde hair look like it did when I was 25. It's now several shades darker, and I am fortunate to have a (very expensive) colourist who weaves old and new colours together beautifully. However, after about 6 weeks the crown of my head looks pretty bad - there's a line of demarcation between coloured and non-coloured and my hair looks greasy all the time. I've been using Go Blonder since my last colouring about 12 weeks ago and my hair looks great. I mean, it looks really good and I am now going to save a bunch of money by pushing my colouring out another 12 weeks.
I am very picky about my hair colour and like it to look natural. This stuff works ... it is nothing like the old stuff we used in the 70s and 80s. I highly recommend it to preserve your blonde, and your bank balance.
Recommended For: Normal Hair, Fine Hair, Natural Highlights, Colour-Treated Hair, Straight Hair
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Go Blonder Controlled Lightening Spray
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Please do not use!!

PostedJuly 31, 2013
Customer avatar
Lilyfrog1025
from Apple valley, ca
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Hair Colour:Blonde
Hair Length:Long
Hair Concern:Damaged Hair
Hair Type:Straight
Used For:Under 1 year
Please tell us how you most recently received the product:I purchased from the store or online.
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Fragrance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Brightens Blonde 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I started using this to deal with roots in between dying my dirty blonde hair platinum blonde. It worked very well for a month or two and then the third month hit and my hair became over processed. I now have hair at the top of my head that has broken off in three places at about an inch long. The hair that didn't break off is coarse and damaged where I sprayed this spray. Thank goodness I only sprayed where I part my hair! I have been able to cover it by parting my hair further over but it is definitely thinner at the top and almost impossible to brush when wet, I can promise you my hair dye did not cause this as I go to a salon and have never experienced this problem before.
 BrightestBlonde
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Go Blonder Controlled Lightening Spray
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

A ombre dream

PostedJuly 18, 2013
Customer avatar
katerose
from Houston, Texas
Age:Under 18
Gender:Female
Hair Colour:Brunette
Hair Length:Long
Hair Concern:Frizz Control
Hair Type:Straight
Used For:1-2 years
Please tell us how you most recently received the product:A friend or family member gave it to me.
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fragrance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Brightens Blonde 
5 / 5
5 / 5
so i am a Burnett and i really wanted to ombre my hair, i have really good healthy hair so i wasn't all that worried but i didn't want to dye. i also didn't want a bleach blonde ombre i just wanted it to be a couple shades lighter. So one day i worked this product through the ends of my hair and ran the straightener through it. and CHIZAM! i got awesome locks now, my hair doesn't feel dried out a all! Woot Woot!
Recommended For: Colour or Heat-Damaged Hair, Natural Highlights, Straight Hair
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Go Blonder Controlled Lightening Spray
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

works, but you'll regret it

PostedJune 8, 2013
Customer avatar
Christmas1342
Age:Under 18
Gender:Female
Hair Colour:Blonde
Hair Length:Long
Hair Concern:Damaged Hair
Hair Type:Wavy
Used For:1-2 years
Please tell us how you most recently received the product:I purchased from the store or online.
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Fragrance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Brightens Blonde 
5 / 5
5 / 5
All my life I've had absolutely gorgeous thick, wavy, long hair. Everyone has always been jealous of my hair, and it's always been my favorite feature on myself. The only thing I was always unhappy about was that when I was younger, my hair used to be very light blonde, but as I got older, it darkened to a dark dirty blonde/light brown. So two years ago, I found this product and excitedly began using it. It worked amazingly, and for awhile I had the perfectly golden locks I'd always wanted. However, after about a year, my mom told me she'd noticed my hair getting dryer and thinner. I didn't want to admit it to myself, wanting to think my hair would stay perfect, and so I kept using this product. But in the last year, the damage has become so evident I cannot deny it any longer. I've lost 2/3 of my hair, and the 1/3 I have left is full of split ends and has broken off in random places. I can't put my hair up without random shorter locks hanging out all over the place because they've broken off. I can't even let it dry naturally after taking a bath because it dries frizzy and horrible, looking like a lion's mane (not over-exaggerating). I look at old pictures or videos of myself and how beautiful my hair used to be. I've come to Hate doing my hair in the morning or at night because it makes me cry to look at how dry and destroyed it is in a mirror. Trust me, you may be happy using this product in the beginning, but it is a terrible mistake you do not want to make. This summer I've decided to cut over half my hair off, to just below my shoulders, and I have to dye it back to the color of my roots. Hopefully it will grow back out thicker by next school year. On top of that, I've been taking hair vitamins, and I have to do hair treatments twice a week with coconut oil and a hair cap overnight. My hair is slooooowly getting thicker at the top, but it nothing like it used to be. My mother constantly tells me she can't believe what I've done to my hair. Please, for your own sake, never start using this product. I feel so much less beautiful without my gorgeous hair :(
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
5of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Lara
Madison, WI
 
Please wait while more information about Lara is loaded.
Additional information about Lara could not be loaded.
moderation and caution are the keys!
Posted July 7, 2013
I've been using this product for almost two years now and my hair is as gorgeous as it was before, just always sun-kissed as it naturally is during the summer. I think the key is moderation and caution! I use it only 2 times for my roots every 3-4 months. I can only imagine what it can do if you use it every day! I guess precisely what you've described. If you want to radically change your hair color, not just make it a bit lighter, then go to the salon!
+1point
1of 1voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 12 for Go Blonder Controlled Lightening Spray
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Beautiful! Haven't gotten highlights in over 6 months!

PostedMarch 25, 2013
Customer avatar
PLW92
from Dallas, TX
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Hair Colour:Blonde
Hair Length:Medium
Hair Concern:Preserve/Enhance Colour
Hair Type:Fine
Used For:1-2 years
Please tell us how you most recently received the product:I purchased from the store or online.
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fragrance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Brightens Blonde 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Go Blonder is very similar to Sun-In. Go Blonder has a heat protectant and sun-in offers silk amino acids. Both have pros and cons but go Blonder seems to be better on my hair with quicker results. Other reviews about Go blonder with comments about, "It ruined my hair." are simply wrong. Most of those women started out with brown or black hair. And also didn't go by the bottle instructions. It does take paitence and a great conditioner but it works like magic! I have not gotten highlights since Sept. 2012. Keep in mind, my hair is naturally blonde so the results are more quick and effective after 2-3 uses. I only spray it on my roots, so it keeps the damage to a minimum!
Recommended For: Fine Hair, Brassy Hair, Dull Hair, Natural Highlights, Grey Coverage, Colour-Treated Hair
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Go Blonder Controlled Lightening Spray
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

I've heard horror stories but so far, so good

PostedMarch 24, 2013
Customer avatar
Jennaaa
from Australia
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Hair Colour:Other
Hair Length:Long
Hair Concern:Hair Health
Hair Type:Wavy
Used For:Under 1 year
Please tell us how you most recently received the product:I purchased from the store or online.
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fragrance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Brightens Blonde 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have used this 4 times and will not use it anymore as I achieved the result I wanted. I am a natural medium blonde who dyed my hair darkest chocolate brown last year and have had full head of foils to try and get back to blonde. I was left with a base of very warm light brown with very dark ash highlights and some light ash bits. I can't afford to go to the hair dresser and keep getting full heads of foils, and it's really damaging and never comes out how I wanted it - always too light because they have to let it develop a lot to get it as ash as possible. So I decided to use the spray since the "controlled lightening" appealed to me and it was so cheap compared to going to a salon. I used a LOT of heat after I put the product in - the equivalent of straightening my hair twice probably. I did that each time. Now my hair is a medium ash-beige blonde with very light ash and beige highlights. I plan on using toner to make it even more ash. I'm surprised it didn't go orange! My hair always goes orange from bleach, whether it's natural or dyed. But it is a little brassy in some parts - however my natural hair colour is VERY ash blonde so I'm sensitive even to a beige colour and will call that brassy. I have heard horror stories about this product but hair dressers base it off their experience with old school sprays. A hair dresser told me my hair will probably keep bleaching every time it heats up and will eventually break off and fall off. This caused me a lot of stress but it has been 2 weeks now and my hair is not damaged or getting any lighter at all. I used conditioning treatments as well. It is a bit drying but so is everything. It feels very starchy after you put it on and style it but that goes away after you wash the product off. I left the product on for about a day each time, then applied more and straightened again. Like I said I did that 4 times, 4 days in a row. I think it should have more in depth instructions, because it doesn't say how OFTEN to use it or how long to leave it on, it just has a thing on the back showing results after 10 uses. Probably safer to avoid this if you have very weak hair. But dont assume your hair is weak just because it's frizzy, coarse etc. Mine is very frizzy and porous but I have used Sun-In spray, then dyed it black, and completely bleached it back to light blonde in one go and my hair didn't fall out. So perhaps people suffering breakage already have weak hair, I'm not sure. I won't be using it any more just in case but my results so far are great.
Recommended For: Normal Hair, Oily Hair, Natural Highlights
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Go Blonder Controlled Lightening Spray
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

DO NOT USE, DO NOT USE

PostedMarch 9, 2013
Customer avatar
bagpipes1
Hair Concern:Damaged Hair
Hair Type:Straight
Please tell us how you most recently received the product:I purchased from the store or online.
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Fragrance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Brightens Blonde 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I had used this product for several months to get my hair blonder during the winter. This past week I went to get highlights (blonde). DON'T EVER EVER EVER GET HIGHLIGHTS AFTER USING THIS PRODUCT. This product melted away my hair that I got highlights on and thanks this product am going to have to go to get deep conditioning treatment twice a week for a month..... PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE, DO NOT USE THIS PRODUCT. It will ruin your hair if you get highlights and legit melt your hair away. I now have white pieces that are 1/3 the length of bangs..
No, I do not recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Go Blonder Controlled Lightening Spray
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Overall good product

PostedFebruary 2, 2013
Customer avatar
Katie22
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Hair Colour:Blonde
Hair Length:Long
Hair Type:Wavy
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fragrance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Brightens Blonde 
4 / 5
4 / 5
In the winter my hair gets very dark and i wanted to find something that would help my hair get back to a blonder shade rather then spending $100 dollars on highlights every few months. The first few times i used this i saw no change in color and was very skeptical on this product. But i finally started seeing color after about a week of use. The ONLY complaints i have about this product is i thought my hair would've been more of a light blonde but it turned out to be a golden color after a week and a half of use. Also, if i sprayed it too close to my forehead right on my hair line it would burn and i would have to put a wet rag on it to take the burn away. DO NOT BELIEVE WHAT OTHER COMMENTS SAY ABOUT THIS PRODUCT MAKING YOUR HAIR DRY/DAMAGED. ITS NOT TRUE!
Recommended For: Normal Hair, Dull Hair, Wavy Hair, Curly Hair
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Go Blonder Controlled Lightening Spray
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Don't use this product....Please!

PostedDecember 5, 2012
Customer avatar
candygurl315
from Virginia
Age:Under 18
Gender:Female
Hair Colour:Blonde
Hair Length:Long
Hair Concern:Damaged Hair
Hair Type:Fine
Used For:Under 1 year
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Fragrance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Brightens Blonde 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I've had natural blonde hair most of my life, but it's slowly faded into a light brown. I read the reviews before I bought this product. I saw the bad reviews saying thing like, "My hair is ruined!" or "John Frieda killed my hair" but I didn't listen and bought it anyways. After 13 uses it barely lightened my blonde. Yes, I was blow drying my hair with the product in because it is supposed too be heat activated. I regret using this spray so much! My hair isn't completely ruined, but there is no way to fix the damage done to it! I have to wait until my hair grows out again, and it's going too take years to fix. When my hair is wet it feels gummy and I can't brush it until it dries. When it dries it obviously looks like there is something wrong with my hair. It crinkly and rough. It wasn't worth the blonde for this damage. I've tried resoration kits and treatments, but I just have to accept the facts that it isn't going to get better. Please, If your love your hair don't use this product!
 BrightestBlonde
No, I do not recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Go Blonder Controlled Lightening Spray
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product worked very well for me!

PostedNovember 8, 2012
Customer avatar
ktrose16
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Hair Colour:Blonde
Hair Length:Medium
Hair Concern:Other
Hair Type:Normal
Used For:1-2 years
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fragrance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Brightens Blonde 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Okay to start, I have naturally light blonde hair and decided to color my hair medium brown. A good bit of the brown faded, so when I started using this product my hair was light brown. I used this product along with the Sheer Blonde Go Blonder shampoo and conditioner for about two weeks, I'd say. I used all three products everyday! Along with blow drying and straightening my hair! At first my color was a bit brassy, but as I kept using it, it faded. I am very pleased with the results. My hair is back to it's natural light blonde that I love. The thermo-protectant in this product is a big plus! I only had one small complaint about this product, and that is the way it makes my hair feel after using it. It sorta makes your hair feel like it has too much hairspray in it. I still highly recommend this product and I will continue to use it as well.
Recommended For: Normal Hair, Wavy Hair, Colour-Treated Hair, Straight Hair
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Go Blonder Controlled Lightening Spray
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I swear by this stuff!!

PostedSeptember 30, 2012
Customer avatar
KateWilson
from Manhattan
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Hair Colour:Blonde
Hair Concern:Preserve/Enhance Colour
Hair Type:Fine
Used For:Under 1 year
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fragrance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Brightens Blonde 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Even just after one use, I saw great results. I swear by John Frieda products, they are amazing!
Recommended For: Natural Highlights, Grey Coverage, Colour-Treated Hair
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Go Blonder Controlled Lightening Spray
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

This product works great

PostedAugust 20, 2012
Customer avatar
jill1d
from houston, tx
Age:Under 18
Gender:Female
Hair Colour:Blonde
Hair Length:Medium
Hair Concern:Preserve/Enhance Colour
Hair Type:Fine
Used For:Under 1 year
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fragrance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Brightens Blonde 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love this product! I have noticed a great difference within the first 3 days of using it! Although, it does make my hair a little tangled, i still love this product so much! It also did make my wavy hair less frizzy and straighter.
Recommended For: Normal Hair, Moderate Frizz, Dull Hair, Wavy Hair, Colour-Treated Hair
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
wannabblondie
 
Please wait while more information about wannabblondie is loaded.
Additional information about wannabblondie could not be loaded.
not sure need help
Posted October 21, 2012
Hi, i have naturally dirty blonde hair, but i want it lighter. what i don't want is it to look dyed or "fake" or have to deal with roots. i want my natural hair color just a bit lighter, not a huge difference. does this product slightly lighten hair, or dramatically lighten it? and will the effects reduce if the uses are more infrequent? please help me!
Thank You.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 20 for Go Blonder Controlled Lightening Spray
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great product, but with some strings attached

PostedAugust 10, 2012
Customer avatar
strawberryblonde21
from Chicago, IL
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Hair Colour:Blonde
Hair Length:Long
Hair Concern:Preserve/Enhance Colour
Hair Type:Straight
Used For:Under 1 year
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Fragrance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Brightens Blonde 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I am a natural blonde with bits of red here and there. Over the past few years my hair has become more red and much darker. For only $8 I thought I'd give this a shot. This product definitely brought out the blonde in my hair and lightened it completely after only 2 uses. Before purchasing this product I read horror stories of people saying that this product completely destroyed their hair, but those people did not use this product in moderation. Since this product has hydrogen peroxide it's like bleaching your hair everyday. Of course using this product for a month straight will damage your hair. My advice is to use this product twice a week at the most to prevent damage and gradually build color. I also recommend having a great conditioner because my hair did feel a bit dry at times.
Recommended For: Normal Hair, Fine Hair, Natural Highlights, Straight Hair
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
12345...17next>>