John Frieda Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for John Frieda Color Renew Tone Correcting Shampoo With Optical Brightener & Lavender

John Frieda Color Renew Tone Correcting Shampoo With Optical Brightener & Lavender

  • The formula, containing Color-Correcting Technology, neutralizes brassy and yellow tones.
  • The formula, containing Optical Brightening Technology, absorbs UV light and emits white-blue light, making color-treated hair appear brighter and salon-fresh.
  • Results are noticeable after just 3 uses.
  • For all shades of color-treated or highlighted blonde hair
Overall rating:
4.875 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
(88 reviews) 88
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 88 reviews
5 stars
77
4 stars
11
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
88 out of 88(100%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Color Renew Tone Correcting Shampoo With Optical Brightener & Lavender
Review 1 for Color Renew Tone Correcting Shampoo With Optical Brightener & Lavender
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent for correcting after coloring brassiness!

PostedJanuary 19, 2012
Customer avatar
kcccmom
from Palm Bay, FL
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Hair Colour:Blonde
Hair Length:Medium
Hair Concern:Preserve/Enhance Colour
Hair Type:Coarse
Used For:5+ years
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fragrance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Brightens Blonde 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great product to correct after coloring brassiness. One or two washes with this product and my hair looks amazing. Thanks for creating such a wonderful product.
Recommended For: Normal Hair, Colour or Heat-Damaged Hair, Brassy Hair, Coarse Hair, Dull Hair, Colour-Treated Hair
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Color Renew Tone Correcting Shampoo With Optical Brightener & Lavender
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Two Tone Blonde Goes Blonder

PostedApril 13, 2013
Customer avatar
Ryn2011
from Evansville, IN
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Hair Colour:Blonde
Hair Length:Medium
Hair Concern:Lack of Volume
Hair Type:Straight
Used For:Under 1 year
Please tell us how you most recently received the product:I purchased from the store or online.
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fragrance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Brightens Blonde 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
I have had the two tone (brown bottom-blonde top) for about 6 months now and recently wanted to go a shade or two lighter. After dying my blonde I noticed that awful BRASS. <---Just like that. Bold, boring, and bothersome. I found this product by accident at a Walgreen's that I stopped by this past Wednesday. I am super skeptical about hair care products and normally stick to natural remedies and such but I decided to give this a try. It is Friday and I washed my hair three times with it. The first time, nothing really changed. The second time I noticed a little bit of change and because I'm paranoid I gave my hair a moisture treatment (oatmeal & vitamin E oil). I washed my hair today and I noticed an huge difference. There are still hints of gold, but that is desirable since I do not want a platinum look but the brass is gone. It's so lovely. I got my hair confidence back. I recommend this product to any blonde, with any shade, anywhere. It really works and it's not going to break the bank.
Recommended For: Colour-Treated Hair, Straight Hair, Fine Hair, Brassy Hair
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Color Renew Tone Correcting Shampoo With Optical Brightener & Lavender
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best color toning shampoo overall

PostedMarch 15, 2013
Customer avatar
danilosangeles
from los angeles,california
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Hair Colour:Blonde
Hair Length:Long
Hair Concern:Preserve/Enhance Colour
Used For:5+ years
Please tell us how you most recently received the product:A friend or family member gave it to me.
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fragrance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Brightens Blonde 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
I usually buy a toning shampoo at sallys beauty but I've been wanting to try this for so long and it was so hard to find ...they were always out....I guess that means it works which made me want it more then my husband found one so I tried it and it was amazing the first time I didn't noticed anything until the fifth day I saw a pic of a night out five days ago.. and my hair went from sand to almost platinumish ..so I love it I guess if you don't want to be so blonde you can use it less but I love my platinum hair also my daughter uses it and she's a brunette her hair has more rich espresso color thanks John Frieda
Recommended For: Normal Hair, Colour or Heat-Damaged Hair, Brassy Hair, Coarse Hair, Oily Hair, Natural Highlights, Wavy Hair, Curly Hair, Colour-Treated Hair, Straight Hair
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Color Renew Tone Correcting Shampoo With Optical Brightener & Lavender
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

OMG it really works

PostedNovember 10, 2012
Customer avatar
dani01
from Yonkers NY
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Hair Colour:Blonde
Hair Length:Long
Hair Concern:Damaged Hair
Hair Type:Fine
Used For:Under 1 year
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fragrance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Brightens Blonde 
5 / 5
5 / 5
i have been dying my hair blonde for 2 years. I never had it look brassy until now. I was upset and went on line to c what i could use. I saw this product and great reviews and had to try it. With one washing my blonde hair is blonde again. I love this product. I cant wait to c what it will look like after i use it again. Thanks john frieda.
Recommended For: Split Ends, Brassy Hair, Colour-Treated Hair, Straight Hair, Brittle or Broken Hair
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Color Renew Tone Correcting Shampoo With Optical Brightener & Lavender
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

brassy gove

PostedAugust 31, 2012
Customer avatar
tess
from pa
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Hair Colour:Blonde
Hair Length:Short
Hair Concern:Hair Health
Hair Type:Wavy
Used For:Under 1 year
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fragrance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Brightens Blonde 
4 / 5
4 / 5
my blonde color always tends to get brassy( I do color my hair) this really tames it down. I love it. Keeps it a cool color instead of that reddish brass.
Recommended For: Brassy Hair
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Color Renew Tone Correcting Shampoo With Optical Brightener & Lavender
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

It took only one application

PostedJune 17, 2012
Customer avatar
rubes
from Michigan
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Hair Colour:Blonde
Hair Length:Medium
Hair Concern:Preserve/Enhance Colour
Hair Type:Wavy
Used For:Under 1 year
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fragrance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Brightens Blonde 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It works amazing!!!! It took 90% of the brassness out in one use! It says use 3 times a week and I am excited to use it again to see what more it can do :) I would recommend this to anyone!! it really does work!!! It makes your hair smell pretty good too. I was surprised at the smell.
Recommended For: Fine Hair, Brassy Hair, Coarse Hair, Wavy Hair, Curly Hair, Colour-Treated Hair, Straight Hair, Brittle or Broken Hair
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Brea
Cali
 
Please wait while more information about Brea is loaded.
Additional information about Brea could not be loaded.
Best hair care product ever
Posted December 3, 2012
I got this shampoo back in March 2012 because my hair was turning very brassy due to daily hot tub soaks. It took over a week of using daily(it says to use every other day), but I did notice a major difference! . Since then, my hair has never gotten brassy again! I use it every other day now.It has never caused my hair to feel dry, My hair is the healthiest,and lightest blonde it's ever been. I used to have to dye my hair every 3-4 weeks, now I do 6-8 weeks only for my roots not because I'm turning orange or yellow, like I used to.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 7 for Color Renew Tone Correcting Shampoo With Optical Brightener & Lavender
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Goodbye Yellow Tones!

PostedFebruary 6, 2012
Customer avatar
jennaleden
from Kent, Ohio
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Hair Colour:Blonde
Hair Length:Long
Hair Concern:Preserve/Enhance Colour
Hair Type:Wavy
Used For:Under 1 year
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fragrance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Brightens Blonde 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have been bleaching my hair for a few months now and my hair dresser introduced me to purple shampoo. I have used many of the more expensive brands out there and after months of purchasing them I needed to find something cheaper. I looked this product up online and decided to give it a try. It works better than the other products I have used. I would most definitely recommend this product to anyone trying to cancel out the brassy tones in their hair.
Recommended For: Brassy Hair, Colour-Treated Hair
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Color Renew Tone Correcting Shampoo With Optical Brightener & Lavender
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this!

PostedJanuary 25, 2012
Customer avatar
MissMichelle
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Hair Colour:Blonde
Hair Length:Short
Hair Concern:Other
Hair Type:Straight
Used For:1-2 years
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fragrance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Brightens Blonde 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My niece introduced me to this product after I ended up with a very brassy tone. I thought I would be wearing a hat for weeks but just after the first use it was so noticeably better I dropped the hat!
Recommended For: Brassy Hair
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
luvingblonde
Massachusetts
 
Please wait while more information about luvingblonde is loaded.
Additional information about luvingblonde could not be loaded.
Unreal how amazing this product is!
Posted July 12, 2012
I spent quite of bit of money on trying to get the brassy tones out of my hair. I went from jet black to blonde but of course it turned orange (my hairdresser said it wouldn't) I did many other things to lighten it and tone it but nothing worked until I discovered this product. In just one use I noticed my hair go from brassy orange to a sexy blonde...amazing! That was just one use! I can not wait to use it again!
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 9 for Color Renew Tone Correcting Shampoo With Optical Brightener & Lavender
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best for any blonde!

PostedJanuary 16, 2012
Customer avatar
Dana3Blondie
from Plainfield, CT
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Hair Colour:Blonde
Hair Length:Long
Hair Concern:Damaged Hair
Hair Type:Wavy
Used For:3-5 years
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fragrance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Brightens Blonde 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
I started using Sheer Blonde color renew tone correcting shampoo when I was returning to my natural blonde shade after experimenting with red. It took the warm brassiness out of my transitioning color and helped with the damage from the hair dye. My hair looked noticeably better after every use.
 BrightestBlonde
Recommended For: Split Ends, Normal Hair, Colour or Heat-Damaged Hair, Brassy Hair, Dull Hair, Natural Highlights, Colour-Treated Hair, Brittle or Broken Hair
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Color Renew Tone Correcting Shampoo With Optical Brightener & Lavender
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Took away brassy tones

PostedJanuary 7, 2012
Customer avatar
ahamrockin
from MI
Gender:Female
Hair Colour:Blonde
Hair Length:Long
Hair Concern:Frizz Control
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fragrance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Brightens Blonde 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have blonde hair that I highlight. One of the problems I run into is as my hair grows out and before I am ready to color again, is that the blonde highlights turn brassy (probably from water elements). But it's great because this shampoo removes the brassy tones! I love it!
 BrightestBlonde
Recommended For: Dry Hair, Wavy Hair
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Color Renew Tone Correcting Shampoo With Optical Brightener & Lavender
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good bye Hair Salons!

PostedJanuary 6, 2012
Customer avatar
sabie23
from Beaufort, SC
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Hair Colour:Blonde
Hair Length:Long
Hair Concern:Preserve/Enhance Colour
Hair Type:Straight
Used For:5+ years
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fragrance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Brightens Blonde 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
I have very long hair,(naturally blond and bits of dark blond roots) and it's become too expensive for me to get it done professionally. Along with other John Frieda products (to help keep my hair blond, give myself highlights. For the last two years I have been using this product to keep my hair from becoming brassy and yellow looking. I've never had so many compliments on my hair in my life!! People keep asking me where I get my hair done.. and I just tell them: John Frieda does my hair!! :) I love my hair, it's got white blond bits, ash blond parts, and darker blond towards the roots. The color renew tone correcting shampoo and conditioner is a miracle worker and makes my hair smell awesome too!
 BrightestBlonde
Recommended For: Split Ends, Normal Hair, Dry Hair, Colour or Heat-Damaged Hair, Moderate Frizz, Fine Hair, Brassy Hair, Coarse Hair, Dull Hair, Oily Hair, Natural Highlights, Colour-Treated Hair, Straight Hair, Brittle or Broken Hair
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Color Renew Tone Correcting Shampoo With Optical Brightener & Lavender
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for toning after highlights

PostedJanuary 6, 2012
Customer avatar
the5ofusowens
from East Coast
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Hair Colour:Blonde
Hair Length:Long
Hair Concern:Frizz Control
Hair Type:Curly
Used For:5+ years
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fragrance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Brightens Blonde 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Approximately 6 months ago, I decided I wanted to make a drastic change - I wanted to make my almost-black hair blonde! And as most of you know, when lifting very dark hair color, the results can often be 'brassy' (yellow/orange). John Frieda Color Renew is fabulous at toning down the brassiness from highlighting/bleaching. (I saw results after 3-4 shampoos.) Now, every time my highlights are touched up, I will shampoo a few times with Color Renew. I also periodically use Color Renew shampoo to brighten my locks! Highly recommend Color Renew for ALL blondes - natural or not!
 BrightestBlonde
Recommended For: Dry Hair, Split Ends, Normal Hair, Colour or Heat-Damaged Hair, Moderate Frizz, Fine Hair, Brassy Hair, Coarse Hair, Chronic Frizz, Dull Hair, Oily Hair, Natural Highlights, Wavy Hair, Curly Hair, Colour-Treated Hair, Straight Hair, Brittle or Broken Hair
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Color Renew Tone Correcting Shampoo With Optical Brightener & Lavender
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

LOVE LOVE LOVE

PostedJanuary 5, 2012
Customer avatar
divamom12
from Madison, WI
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Hair Colour:Blonde
Hair Length:Long
Hair Concern:Preserve/Enhance Colour
Hair Type:Fine
Used For:3-5 years
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fragrance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Brightens Blonde 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I will not go without this product, if they do not have it at my hometown store I will drive 50 miles to get it. This shampoo along with the conditioner is a recipe for keeping your hair color beautiful longer and providing strength, shine, and softness to my hair. It is an awesome product. Once you try it , I know you will agree!
 BrightestBlonde
Recommended For: Dry Hair, Split Ends, Normal Hair, Colour or Heat-Damaged Hair, Fine Hair, Brassy Hair, Coarse Hair, Dull Hair, Oily Hair, Natural Highlights, Wavy Hair, Curly Hair, Colour-Treated Hair, Straight Hair, Brittle or Broken Hair
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Color Renew Tone Correcting Shampoo With Optical Brightener & Lavender
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Love the toning

PostedJanuary 5, 2012
Customer avatar
Mags
from Derby, NY
Age:Over 65
Gender:Female
Hair Colour:Blonde
Hair Length:Short
Hair Concern:Preserve/Enhance Colour
Hair Type:Fine
Used For:3-5 years
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fragrance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
My hair is cut often so I need to color very often and sometime there is a slight red tone to my color, using Color Renew makes my hair look like I want it to.
Recommended For: Brassy Hair, Colour-Treated Hair
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Color Renew Tone Correcting Shampoo With Optical Brightener & Lavender
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best thing sence butter bread

PostedJanuary 5, 2012
Customer avatar
lori4562000
from indiana
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Hair Colour:Blonde
Hair Length:Long
Hair Concern:Lack of Shine
Hair Type:Wavy
Used For:Under 1 year
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fragrance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Brightens Blonde 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love this,I have an almost dirty blonde hair color but when I use this my hair shines so much....not to minchen how soft and full it makes my hair look and feel.
 BrightestBlonde
Recommended For: Normal Hair, Dull Hair
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Color Renew Tone Correcting Shampoo With Optical Brightener & Lavender
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product!

PostedJanuary 5, 2012
Customer avatar
Tracylyn69
from Jamestown, NY
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Hair Colour:Blonde
Hair Length:Medium
Hair Concern:Damaged Hair
Hair Type:Coarse
Used For:1-2 years
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fragrance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Brightens Blonde 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I was very happy with this product and how it seemed to level out the brassiness of my bleached blonde color! Will continue to buy!
 BrightestBlonde
Recommended For: Coarse Hair, Wavy Hair
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Color Renew Tone Correcting Shampoo With Optical Brightener & Lavender
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Beautiful Results!

PostedJanuary 5, 2012
Customer avatar
carolobunny
from Baltimore, Maryland
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Hair Colour:Blonde
Hair Length:Long
Hair Concern:Lack of Volume
Hair Type:Straight
Used For:5+ years
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fragrance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Brightens Blonde 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Because I color my hair a golden medium blonde shade, there are times when the color turns out looking too "brassy." I always turn to this product to tone down the brassiness and give my hair the beautiful golden shades that I love. I know this product will work, I have relied upon it to correct brassiness several times with gorgeous results. Has a beautiful fragrance, and leaves my hair feeling soft and healthy. My favorite product from the Sheer Blonde line. I always know I can depend upon John Frieda products. Hands down, the BEST hair products out there.
 BrightestBlonde
Recommended For: Colour or Heat-Damaged Hair, Brassy Hair, Natural Highlights, Colour-Treated Hair
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Color Renew Tone Correcting Shampoo With Optical Brightener & Lavender
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

This product does what it says it will do...

PostedJanuary 5, 2012
Customer avatar
LittleWhiteDove
from Canyon, TX
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Hair Colour:Blonde
Hair Length:Long
Hair Concern:Damaged Hair
Hair Type:Coarse
Used For:5+ years
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fragrance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Brightens Blonde 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I use this to keep the brassiness out of my hair and it works wonderfully. I have been using this little lavender tube for so many years, I honestly can't remember how long it has been. That should tell you something. I've been coloring my hair since I was 16, I'm now 62, didn't have John Freida all those years ago, but I'm ever so Thankful, that we have had for quite some time now. Thanks, John!!!!
 BrightestBlonde
Recommended For: Brassy Hair, Coarse Hair, Colour-Treated Hair, Straight Hair
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Color Renew Tone Correcting Shampoo With Optical Brightener & Lavender
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

GREATEST Ever!!!

PostedJanuary 5, 2012
Customer avatar
Laura63
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Hair Colour:Blonde
Hair Length:Medium
Hair Concern:Lack of Volume
Hair Type:Straight
Used For:Under 1 year
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fragrance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Brightens Blonde 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Works GREAT at keeping my hair the correct color and shinny. LOVE this!!!
 BrightestBlonde
Recommended For: Split Ends, Dull Hair, Grey Coverage, Colour-Treated Hair
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Color Renew Tone Correcting Shampoo With Optical Brightener & Lavender
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

PostedJanuary 5, 2012
Customer avatar
RAH9553
from Tennessee
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Hair Colour:Blonde
Hair Length:Medium
Hair Concern:Preserve/Enhance Colour
Hair Type:Straight
Used For:5+ years
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fragrance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Brightens Blonde 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have tried several products to remove and/or reduce the brassiness in my color treated hair, but Sheer Blonde, Color Renew is by far the best! The results are almost immediate. Please try both the shampoo and conditioner for amazing results!
 BrightestBlonde
Recommended For: Brassy Hair, Wavy Hair, Curly Hair, Colour-Treated Hair, Straight Hair
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.