John Frieda Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At John Frieda
Shop Shade or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for John Frieda 7PBN Salon Blends Dark Cool Pearl Blonde

John Frieda 7PBN Salon Blends Dark Cool Pearl Blonde

Our revolutionary, non-drip foam covers every strand perfectly – so you are assured of flawless, natural-looking results you thought you could only get at a salon.
Overall rating:
4.3 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(10 reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 10 reviews
5 stars
5
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
10 out of 10(100%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for 7PBN Salon Blends Dark Cool Pearl Blonde
Review 1 for 7PBN Salon Blends Dark Cool Pearl Blonde
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

best home product ever

PostedApril 8, 2014
Customer avatar
Colturn54
from Atascadero CA
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Hair Colour:Red
Hair Length:Short
Hair Type:Wavy
Used For:Under 1 year
Please tell us how you most recently received the product:I purchased from the store or online.
Colour Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Coverage 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Easy to Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have been trying to cover the most stubborn gray hair for over 15 years and I tried this for the first time today and got 100% coverage and the color is wonderful it looks like my natural hair color. it is the best product I have ever bought. Love it and will use again and again and highly recommend it. I followed the directions to a tee and did it all my self, hubby said it looks wonderful!
Recommended For: Grey Coverage, Wavy Hair, Curly Hair, Straight Hair
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for 7PBN Salon Blends Dark Cool Pearl Blonde
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this color!

PostedAugust 15, 2013
Customer avatar
mshearer12
from Washington PA
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Hair Colour:Brunette
Hair Length:Long
Hair Concern:Damaged Hair
Hair Type:Wavy
Used For:1-2 years
Please tell us how you most recently received the product:I purchased from the store or online.
Colour Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Coverage 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Easy to Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love john frieda foam color its the only hair dye I use. It is so easy to apply and get all over color without missing spots. This past time I decided to dye my hair I tried to do highlights which turned out to be a disaster I ended up with yellow orange highlights. My birthday was only a day away and as a last resort I decided to go out and buy all over color to try and correct it a little bit. I decided to try the dark cool pearl blond hoping it would blend in the bad highlights with my light brown hair and tone them down. Needless to say it worked it really toned down the brassy orange highlights and left me with this dark blond hair color with some blonde highlights. I love this color and will always use john frieda hair color.
Recommended For: Colour or Heat-Damaged Hair, Brassy Hair, Wavy Hair, Colour-Treated Hair, Straight Hair
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for 7PBN Salon Blends Dark Cool Pearl Blonde
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Easy but dark

PostedFebruary 26, 2013
Customer avatar
Kelly0304
Colour Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Coverage 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Easy to Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I used this color to darken my ombre'd hair. I'd gotten it done at a salon and the fade was amazing, but, as a dark brunette, the fade to medium/light blonde was a little too much for my complexion. I wanted to darken it a bit, but being a uni student without a car, I couldn't make time to go back to the salon (it's an hour there and back via bus) even though they had offered me a free glaze to darken the color.
Being impatient, I went to CVS and picked this up instead. I was wary that this could turn out too dark and completely ruin the work that went into my ombre, so I applied it for only 10 minutes. This turned out to be the perfect amount of time and it came out as the color on the box. Wish I'd left it a bit lighter, but the good news is I'm sure this will fade a bit and lighten in the sun (spring break is coming up, and I'll be spending it in Mexico).
En résumé: Good product, but the color deposits pretty quickly! Leave in for half the time if you're worried about the color being too dark.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for 7PBN Salon Blends Dark Cool Pearl Blonde
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great color, easy use, lots of dimension

PostedFebruary 24, 2013
Customer avatar
Laurengk6694
from Olympia, WA
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Hair Colour:Blonde
Hair Length:Medium
Hair Concern:Hair Health
Hair Type:Wavy
Used For:Under 1 year
Please tell us how you most recently received the product:I purchased from the store or online.
Colour Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Coverage 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Easy to Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have been going back and forth between getting salon high lights and doing my hair at home. I went and had salon highlights put all over my hair, but due to having to cut back my expenses, I knew I couldn't go to the salon anymore. My natural hair color is a mosey dark blonde, and I wanted to achieve a darker blonde that looked NATURAL. I couldn't be happier with this product. Unlike the other reviews on this color, mine came out exactly like the box, not darker, no orange, but a dark natural blonde color. My old high lights came through and gave me more dimension, truly looks like a salon color job. This is will my go to color! Love it! Give it a try!
**I also bought the John Frieda highlight activating shampoo for darker blonder hair, and it works amazinggg with this color! :)
Recommended For: Split Ends, Normal Hair, Dull Hair, Oily Hair, Natural Highlights, Wavy Hair, Curly Hair, Colour-Treated Hair, Straight Hair, Brittle or Broken Hair
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for 7PBN Salon Blends Dark Cool Pearl Blonde
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Shockingly good quality

PostedOctober 29, 2012
Customer avatar
MissDianne
from New England
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Hair Colour:Blonde
Hair Length:Short
Hair Concern:Lack of Shine
Hair Type:Fine
Used For:Under 1 year
I have naturally dark blond/light brown VERY flat colored, baby fine hair with about 30% grey. I've been getting it highlighted and it just started looking so light, fine (even more so!) and FRIED. I decided that I wanted something more natural, but every time I've had a hairdresser try to take me back to natural, I end up with terribly brassy hair that I paid a fortune for. I decided to take a giant risk and try John Frieda Dark Cool Pearl Blond.
Every time I've ever tried to color at home, whether brown or blond, no matter what I was starting with, I've gotten what I call "hot roots", creamsicle-colored basically. This product was easy to use, and NO HOT ROOTS. Not only that, but the color was not at all brassy (more beigey) and had tons of shine. It was darker than I expected but was so stunning I couldn't care less. My hair looked 100 times healthier than before I colored it. I'm hooked (and it has lightened up a bit). Everyone thinks I went to a salon!
Recommended For: Dry Hair, Fine Hair, Brassy Hair, Dull Hair, Grey Coverage, Colour-Treated Hair, Straight Hair, Brittle or Broken Hair
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for 7PBN Salon Blends Dark Cool Pearl Blonde
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

easy application but color misleading

PostedOctober 12, 2012
Customer avatar
jlee
Age:18-24
My natural hair color is black so I bleached my hair before applying this product to get the shade on the box. However, my hair color after using this product is.. DARK BROWN. The bleaching turned out to be a waste..because this covered it all. The foam is very easy to apply but the color on the box is not true AT ALL.
Recommended For: Normal Hair
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for 7PBN Salon Blends Dark Cool Pearl Blonde
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good salon quality

PostedJuly 21, 2012
Customer avatar
Rebosme
from Chicago
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Hair Colour:Brunette
Hair Length:Medium
Hair Concern:Grey Coverage
Hair Type:Wavy
Used For:Under 1 year
Definitely a good product. It covers easily & evenly. The only complaint I have is the shade I used turned out way way darker then I wanted. The box says to pick a shade no more then 2 shades lighter or darker then your CURRENT shade. I used a dark blonde as my hair was currently very light brown. My hair is now a dark chocolate color. My natural color. Be careful
Recommended For: Grey Coverage, Natural Highlights
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for 7PBN Salon Blends Dark Cool Pearl Blonde
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Easy to Apply

PostedJuly 9, 2012
Customer avatar
calibeauty3698
from Palm Springs, CA
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Hair Colour:Brunette
Hair Length:Long
Hair Concern:Preserve/Enhance Colour
Hair Type:Wavy
Used For:Under 1 year
I was told by a friend to try using John Frieda precision foam color and picked up the Dark Cool Pearl Blonde-7PBN.
The instructions were clear and easy to follow, and the application was even easier. However I wanted a dark blonde color and it left my hair light brown, in fact everyone I asked said its a beautiful shade of brown. If you are looking for lighter shades I'd go lighter, but this is a beautiful light brown color and I would use it again, but maybe as a winter, not summer shade.
Recommended For: Normal Hair
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for 7PBN Salon Blends Dark Cool Pearl Blonde
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product!

PostedMarch 20, 2012
Customer avatar
Becky08
from Virginia
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Hair Colour:Brunette
Hair Length:Medium
Hair Concern:Grey Coverage
Hair Type:Curly
Used For:Under 1 year
My first attempt at coloring my hair at home was last summer. I used Precision Foam in Light Natural Brown--6N. It went on much darker than I wanted, but I was very pleased with how easy it was to apply the foam and how soft my hair was after the process. I used 6N again in October, but kept the color on for only 10 min. instead of the recommended 20 min. I was more pleased with the color, but it was still a little dark. I kept reading recommendations online to try a shade or two lighter to achieve my desired color, so this time I decided to try one of the new shades--Dark Cool Pearl Blonde--7PBN--hoping that the dark blonde shades would also run darker than pictured. Thankfully, my gamble paid off. The color came out very close to my own natural light brown. Again, the product was gentle on my naturally curly hair which feels soft and has a healthy shine. I will definitely use this shade again.
Recommended For: Fine Hair, Grey Coverage, Curly Hair
Yes, I recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for 7PBN Salon Blends Dark Cool Pearl Blonde
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Excellent application and color, but a bit too dark

PostedFebruary 14, 2012
Customer avatar
DianeS
from Albany, NY
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Hair Colour:Blonde
Hair Length:Long
Hair Concern:Preserve/Enhance Colour
Hair Type:Straight
Used For:Under 1 year
I love using John Frieda foam colors and was very excited about the new Salon Blends. I am a dark ash blonde. The new Cool Pearl is a lovely color but a bit too dark to be called dark blonde. Those around me clearly think it looks light brown. But this is only day two. Perhaps once it is washed and settles, it will lighten up. The medium blondes look a bit too light. I feel tempted to mix but that is not recommended. That said, overall I am satisfied and will stick with the product. It makes my hair look and feel great. It is shiny and sleek.
Recommended For: Split Ends, Colour or Heat-Damaged Hair, Brassy Hair, Chronic Frizz, Grey Coverage, Straight Hair
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.