John Frieda Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for John Frieda 4R Radiant Red Dark Red Brown

John Frieda 4R Radiant Red Dark Red Brown

Our revolutionary, non-drip foam covers every strand perfectly – so you are assured of flawless, natural-looking results you thought you could only get at a salon.
Overall rating:
4.761 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(117 reviews) 117
112 out of 117(96%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for 4R Radiant Red Dark Red Brown
Review 21 for 4R Radiant Red Dark Red Brown
Customer avatar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

NO need for the salon anymore for color!!!

dandsbeck
PostedJanuary 14, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
I needed my hair done quickly and my "girl" could not get me in right away so I had recieved a coupon for a free box of John Freida Hair Color and decided to try it. I was amazed at how easy it was to use, the all over color and that it covered the grey completely. I showed my hair stylist and she was impressed as well. Unfortunatly, now she will only need to cut my hair as I will be using John Frieda for my color in the future!!!
Recommended For: Normal Hair, Grey Coverage, Colour-Treated Hair, Straight Hair
Colour Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Coverage 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Easy to Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
dandsbeck
from Florida
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Hair Colour:Red
Hair Length:Short
Hair Concern:Grey Coverage
Hair Type:Normal
Used For:Under 1 year
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for 4R Radiant Red Dark Red Brown
Customer avatar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I love this product & colour!

Casey0507
PostedJanuary 11, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
I have used this twice now & had great results both times. I love the color, and it covers beautifully. Before, I had to add a color booster. Now I get perfect results with one product that is so easy to use. I would strongly recommend it to anyone that wants an affordable hair color they can do easily & quickly at home and without sacrificing having beautiful color that lasts longer than any other I've tried.
Recommended For: Normal Hair, Fine Hair, Coarse Hair, Dull Hair, Wavy Hair, Grey Coverage, Curly Hair, Colour-Treated Hair, Straight Hair
Colour Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Coverage 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Easy to Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
 
Products related to my review
 
Casey0507
from Angleton, TX
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Hair Colour:Red
Hair Length:Long
Hair Concern:Preserve/Enhance Colour
Hair Type:Wavy
Used For:1-2 years
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for 4R Radiant Red Dark Red Brown
Customer avatar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Loved the product after one use.

Lanalynn1956
PostedJanuary 11, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
I tried this product on a whim, I wasn't sure if it would cover my naturally dark brown hair color, as many other products weren't able to. This color not only added the red color I was looking for but was also easier to use than other products, it smelled better, and in my opinion the best part was the aftercare products. The conditioner smelled fantastic, left my hair feeling soft and healthy and you also get a larger amount than what you would expect from an at home hair color product. I had enough for 4 washings. Its been about 5 weeks since I used the hair color and my hair is still vibrant and did not turn orange like other colors can do. I would recommend this product to anyone who colors their hair at home. I look forward to trying another color.
Recommended For: Normal Hair, Colour or Heat-Damaged Hair, Grey Coverage, Wavy Hair, Curly Hair, Colour-Treated Hair, Straight Hair
Colour Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Coverage 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Easy to Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Lanalynn1956
from Albuquerque, NM
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Hair Colour:Red
Hair Length:Long
Hair Concern:Preserve/Enhance Colour
Hair Type:Fine
Used For:1-2 years
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for 4R Radiant Red Dark Red Brown
Customer avatar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works Great - Love it!

catster
PostedJanuary 11, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
I love this product! It works great, no drips and the color is consistent. I've gotten many compliments since I started using this product.
Recommended For: Dry Hair, Colour or Heat-Damaged Hair, Coarse Hair, Chronic Frizz, Grey Coverage, Natural Highlights, Curly Hair, Colour-Treated Hair
Colour Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Coverage 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Easy to Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
catster
from Ocala, FL
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Hair Colour:Black
Hair Length:Long
Hair Concern:Frizz Control
Hair Type:Curly
Used For:Under 1 year
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for 4R Radiant Red Dark Red Brown
Customer avatar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy to use!

susie11
PostedJanuary 11, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Love this hair color, the dark red brown is my favorite, color holds well unlike most other red dyes, I always get complimented on the color! The conditioner it comes with is great.
Recommended For: Dry Hair, Normal Hair, Brassy Hair, Dull Hair, Oily Hair, Natural Highlights, Grey Coverage, Wavy Hair, Curly Hair, Colour-Treated Hair, Straight Hair
Colour Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Coverage 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Easy to Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
 
Products related to my review
Color Captivating® Daily Shampoo
4.8 out of 5(72)
 
 
 
Color Magnifying® Daily Conditioner
4.7 out of 5(26)
 
 
 
 
 
 
susie11
from Tulsa, OK
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Hair Colour:Red
Hair Length:Long
Hair Concern:Hair Health
Hair Type:Curly
Used For:5+ years
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for 4R Radiant Red Dark Red Brown
Customer avatar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy, fast, brilliant results!

EPost
PostedJanuary 9, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
I love this product.I have long and thick hair and I usualy need two boxes of color, but with the Precision Foam Colour, I only have to purchase one! I have no time to go to the salon so using John Frieda's Precision Foam colour is the prefect solution for me. I can do it myself which saves me money and it has great coverage. It is easy to use - no dripping or mess and my hair looks great after.
Recommended For: Split Ends, Normal Hair, Colour or Heat-Damaged Hair, Moderate Frizz, Oily Hair, Grey Coverage, Wavy Hair, Curly Hair, Colour-Treated Hair
Colour Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Coverage 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Easy to Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
EPost
from Maple Shade, NJ
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Hair Colour:Red
Hair Length:Long
Hair Concern:Lack of Shine
Hair Type:Wavy
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for 4R Radiant Red Dark Red Brown
Customer avatar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

amazing color!

jackie1359
PostedJanuary 9, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
I just really love the richness of the color, and just how easy it is to apply. It smells great and unlike other dyes I've used in thr past, it doesn't fade as fast. I've been using it for 6 months now and will continue!
Recommended For: Normal Hair, Dull Hair, Grey Coverage, Wavy Hair, Curly Hair, Straight Hair
Colour Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Coverage 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Easy to Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
jackie1359
from chicago, Il.
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Hair Colour:Brunette
Hair Length:Medium
Hair Concern:Preserve/Enhance Colour
Hair Type:Normal
Used For:1-2 years
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for 4R Radiant Red Dark Red Brown
Customer avatar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Beautiful Color

fizees
PostedJanuary 9, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Very easy to use! Love the color. Intense but not to far out. Left my hair feeling fantastic and beautiful!
Recommended For: Dry Hair, Split Ends, Normal Hair, Colour or Heat-Damaged Hair, Moderate Frizz, Fine Hair, Brassy Hair, Coarse Hair, Chronic Frizz, Dull Hair, Oily Hair, Natural Highlights, Grey Coverage, Wavy Hair, Curly Hair, Colour-Treated Hair, Straight Hair, Brittle or Broken Hair
Colour Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Coverage 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Easy to Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
fizees
from Olive Branch, MS
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Hair Colour:Red
Hair Length:Medium
Hair Concern:Grey Coverage
Hair Type:Curly
Used For:Under 1 year
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for 4R Radiant Red Dark Red Brown
Customer avatar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love my new color!!!!

ferdinand939
PostedJanuary 8, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
I am very picky about brands and how well they work. All I want is excellent coverage that will make my hair shine and not fade away too quickly, so when I saw the commercials for the "precision foam colour", I thought I'd try it and see how well it works. Coloring my hair was so easy with the foam bottle and once I rinsed and dried my hair, I could not have been happier with the results. All my friends and family noticed my hair and were surprised when I told them I did not go to a salon. If you want gorgeous color that will last without draining your wallet, try John Frieda.
Recommended For: Colour-Treated Hair
Colour Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Coverage 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Easy to Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
 
Products related to my review
 
Color Captivating® Daily Shampoo
4.8 out of 5(72)
 
 
 
Color Magnifying® Daily Conditioner
4.7 out of 5(26)
 
 
 
 
 
ferdinand939
from Fresno, CA
Age:18-24
Hair Colour:Red
Hair Length:Short
Hair Concern:Preserve/Enhance Colour
Hair Type:Oily
Used For:1-2 years
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 30 for 4R Radiant Red Dark Red Brown
Customer avatar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The best of them all

Andrea72
PostedJanuary 8, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Love how pleasant the smell of product, excellent quality gloves..., and they are black! The color shield conditioner comes in a tube, plenty for very long hair. I've used many brands,,,and this is going to be my new best friend from here on. Thank you heaps :)
Recommended For: Grey Coverage, Colour-Treated Hair
Colour Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Coverage 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Easy to Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Andrea72
from Alabama
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Hair Colour:Black
Hair Length:Medium
Hair Concern:Grey Coverage
Hair Type:Straight
Used For:Under 1 year
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 31 for 4R Radiant Red Dark Red Brown
Customer avatar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product is easy to use

cblevins76
PostedJanuary 8, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
I love everything about this product. It meets all of my needs and fulfilled all of my expectations.
Recommended For: Grey Coverage
Colour Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Coverage 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Easy to Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
cblevins76
from Wadsworth, OH
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Hair Colour:Red
Hair Length:Long
Hair Concern:Grey Coverage
Hair Type:Fine
Used For:5+ years
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 32 for 4R Radiant Red Dark Red Brown
Customer avatar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

So easy to use

greeneyedlady
PostedJanuary 8, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
This is probably the best hair color I have ever used. Easy to apply, full coverage with only one bottle (I used to have to buy two or three of other products), and excellent color results. The final shade actually matched what the box said it would be. My hair is so well conditioned by this product that it is like I had a salon treatment. I love the after color conditioner too. I would recommend all the John Frieda products to everyone.
Recommended For: Dry Hair, Colour or Heat-Damaged Hair, Coarse Hair, Chronic Frizz, Grey Coverage, Curly Hair, Colour-Treated Hair
Colour Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Coverage 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Easy to Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
greeneyedlady
from North Carolina
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Hair Colour:Red
Hair Length:Medium
Hair Concern:Damaged Hair
Hair Type:Coarse
Used For:1-2 years
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 33 for 4R Radiant Red Dark Red Brown
Customer avatar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

THIS PRODUCT IS FABULOUS!!

BELLA567
PostedJanuary 7, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
This product is a revolutionary new product. This has given me the best colour I have experienced in over 15 years. The product is easy to use and the results are excellant.
Recommended For: Colour or Heat-Damaged Hair, Fine Hair, Grey Coverage, Colour-Treated Hair, Straight Hair
Colour Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Coverage 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Easy to Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BELLA567
from ARLINGTON, MA
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Hair Colour:Black
Hair Length:Medium
Hair Concern:Grey Coverage
Hair Type:Normal
Used For:Under 1 year
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 34 for 4R Radiant Red Dark Red Brown
Customer avatar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Simple to use and great colors

msbblu
PostedJanuary 6, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
I've tried others over the year and I will say this is one of the best. My hair sometimes wont take the colour of other products. With john frieda precision foam colour 1st it was simple to use. 2nd seems to work with pick hair types. 3rd It looks great. It's something everyone should buy even just to try on them self! five stars up!!
Recommended For: Dry Hair, Split Ends, Normal Hair, Colour or Heat-Damaged Hair, Moderate Frizz, Fine Hair, Brassy Hair, Coarse Hair, Chronic Frizz, Dull Hair, Oily Hair, Natural Highlights, Grey Coverage, Wavy Hair, Curly Hair, Colour-Treated Hair, Straight Hair, Brittle or Broken Hair
Colour Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Coverage 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Easy to Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
msbblu
from Az
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Hair Length:Long
Hair Concern:Hair Health
Hair Type:Straight
Used For:1-2 years
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 35 for 4R Radiant Red Dark Red Brown
Customer avatar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy to use Excellent Coverage

blondiefrommd
PostedJanuary 6, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Love Precision Foam so easy to use no dripping no mess, the coverage is awesome and my hair never felt so good. This is the best color I have used since Ive been coloring my hair for 20 years
Recommended For: Dry Hair, Normal Hair, Fine Hair, Brassy Hair, Coarse Hair, Dull Hair, Oily Hair, Natural Highlights, Grey Coverage, Wavy Hair, Curly Hair, Colour-Treated Hair, Straight Hair, Brittle or Broken Hair
Colour Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Coverage 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Easy to Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
blondiefrommd
from West Virginia
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Hair Colour:Red
Hair Length:Medium
Hair Concern:Preserve/Enhance Colour
Hair Type:Wavy
Used For:1-2 years
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 36 for 4R Radiant Red Dark Red Brown
Customer avatar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Color

KGray13
PostedJanuary 6, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
This product had the best coverage that I've ever used! The color is so rich and goes on super easy, not to mention that the conditioner has an amazing smell so that after you wash the color out it doesn't have that funky smell.
Recommended For: Dry Hair, Normal Hair, Colour or Heat-Damaged Hair, Brassy Hair, Dull Hair, Oily Hair, Natural Highlights, Grey Coverage, Wavy Hair, Curly Hair, Colour-Treated Hair, Straight Hair, Brittle or Broken Hair
Colour Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Coverage 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Easy to Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
KGray13
from Paducah, KY
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Hair Colour:Brunette
Hair Length:Short
Hair Concern:Lack of Shine
Hair Type:Wavy
Used For:1-2 years
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 37 for 4R Radiant Red Dark Red Brown
Customer avatar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Lov It

kimmyt38t
PostedJanuary 6, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
This product is so easy to use and the color is awesome!
Recommended For: Moderate Frizz, Fine Hair, Coarse Hair, Chronic Frizz, Wavy Hair, Grey Coverage, Colour-Treated Hair, Straight Hair
Colour Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Coverage 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Easy to Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
kimmyt38t
from waco, texas
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Hair Colour:Brunette
Hair Length:Medium
Hair Concern:Grey Coverage
Hair Type:Wavy
Used For:Under 1 year
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 38 for 4R Radiant Red Dark Red Brown
Customer avatar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

LOVE, LOVE, LOVE IT!

Jen52
PostedJanuary 6, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
What more can I say about this product?! It is by far the easiest product on the market to use & has the best coverage. I have long hair, so I typically have to purchase two boxes of color, but with the Precision Foam Colour, I only have to purchase one! The colour far outlasts the competition (of which I have tried almost everyone on the market). I have had many compliments since using this product- people love the color, my hair looks so healthy and shiny, etc. I have even had co-workers like it well enough they have tried it as well! This is the only at-home hair colour for me- I DEFINITELY recommend!!!!
Recommended For: Dry Hair, Split Ends, Normal Hair, Colour or Heat-Damaged Hair, Fine Hair, Dull Hair, Grey Coverage, Colour-Treated Hair, Straight Hair, Brittle or Broken Hair
Colour Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Coverage 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Easy to Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jen52
from West Lafayette, IN
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Hair Colour:Brunette
Hair Length:Long
Hair Concern:Grey Coverage
Hair Type:Fine
Used For:Under 1 year
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 39 for 4R Radiant Red Dark Red Brown
Customer avatar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

LOVE LOVE this hair dye!!!!!

Akki
PostedJanuary 6, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
I have been coloring my hair at home for 23 years. This was my first time using the John Freida Precision Foam color. It was the easiest application process EVER! I did not make any mess, no random dots of color on the counter, floor, or walls. The color foam stayed put, didnt splatter, it just went where I put it and stayed there. The odor level of this product seemed much more tolerable to me and my family than any other I have used in the past. The color is beautiful and shiney. So much so I keep catching my husband just staring at my hair. I asked him why the first time I caught him and he said, "it's just so pretty I can't help but stare". Thats all I need to know I have found my new favorite hair dye!!!!
Recommended For: Split Ends, Colour or Heat-Damaged Hair, Moderate Frizz, Fine Hair, Oily Hair, Natural Highlights, Grey Coverage, Wavy Hair, Colour-Treated Hair, Brittle or Broken Hair
Akki
from Arkansas
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Hair Colour:Red
Hair Length:Medium
Hair Concern:Hair Health
Hair Type:Fine
Used For:3-5 years
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 40 for 4R Radiant Red Dark Red Brown
Customer avatar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I'm sticking with this colour.

Danni27
PostedJanuary 6, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
A couple months ago I received a coupon for a free box of the Precision Foam Colour. It was my first time using it & was unsure at first, but I must say, I loved it. This product is so easy to use & the amount of coverage & vibrancy of the shade was unbelievable. I would absolutely buy it again & recommend it to anyone else who is looking for a great hair colour.
Recommended For: Dry Hair, Normal Hair, Fine Hair, Brassy Hair, Coarse Hair, Dull Hair, Oily Hair, Natural Highlights, Grey Coverage, Wavy Hair, Curly Hair, Colour-Treated Hair, Straight Hair, Brittle or Broken Hair
Colour Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Coverage 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Easy to Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Danni27
from Grand Rapids, MI
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Hair Colour:Other
Hair Length:Medium
Hair Concern:Frizz Control
Hair Type:Curly
Used For:3-5 years
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.