John Frieda Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At John Frieda
Shop Stylers & Finishers or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for John Frieda Blow-Dry Lotion Root Booster

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at John Frieda.

John Frieda Blow-Dry Lotion Root Booster

  • Enhanced formula contains a targeted lifting complex with longer lasting hold, a less sticky feel and added heat protection polymers and Panthenol, know to protect and strengthen hair.
  • Unlike other volumizing sprays, it doesn’t contain alcohol so hair stays soft.
Overall rating:
4.717 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(53 reviews) 53
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 53 reviews
5 stars
41
4 stars
11
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
52 out of 53(98%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Blow-Dry Lotion Root Booster
Review 41 for Blow-Dry Lotion Root Booster
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best volumizer on the market

PostedJanuary 18, 2012
Customer avatar
Connie2
from Williamson, GA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Hair Colour:Red
Hair Length:Long
Hair Concern:Lack of Volume
Hair Type:Normal
Used For:Under 1 year
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fragrance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Boosts Volume 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ive tried other root lifting products, but they were sticky and more like hairspray, and frankly, didn't work. This one is different. It is like a spray on conditioner that holds lots of body in the entire root system of the hair! It is wonderful, just like all the John Freida hair care products I've tried. John Frieda is my new best friend, with benefits!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 42 for Blow-Dry Lotion Root Booster
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I use Root Booster Everyday!

PostedJanuary 5, 2012
Customer avatar
GaZeLLe158
from Flemington, NJ
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Hair Colour:Blonde
Hair Length:Medium
Hair Concern:Lack of Volume
Hair Type:Straight
Used For:5+ years
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fragrance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Boosts Volume 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I really like the Root Booster. I have very fine hair, and many of the volumizers I used previously would either make my hair tpp heavy & greasy or were too light & would make my hair staticky. The Root Booster is a perfect blend ... it gives my hair volume without it being greasy or fly-away. It has a nice light smell and is the perfect addition to my hair care routine.
 BrightestBlonde
Recommended For: Fine Hair, Colour-Treated Hair, Straight Hair
Yes, I recommend this product.
 
Products related to my review
Thickening Mousse
4.9 out of 5(28)
 
 
 
Thickening Conditioner
4.8 out of 5(19)
 
 
 
Thickening Shampoo
4.9 out of 5(62)
 
 
 
 
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 43 for Blow-Dry Lotion Root Booster
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

What's not to like?

PostedJanuary 5, 2012
Customer avatar
Scotchheather
from CA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Hair Colour:Brunette
Hair Length:Medium
Hair Concern:Other
Hair Type:Wavy
Used For:1-2 years
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fragrance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Boosts Volume 
5 / 5
5 / 5
So, ok. I'll admit it. I miss the 'big hair' of the '80's. I'm excited to see styles having added height and fullness. Sleek and straight just isn't me. And the whole 'Volume' line helps me achieve that, but the root booster is my favorite. The formula has no alcohol so my hair doesn't get that 'straw-like' feeling that a lot of product leaves. It stays soft, lifts high, lasts all day.
Recommended For: Wavy Hair, Curly Hair, Straight Hair
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 44 for Blow-Dry Lotion Root Booster
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Makes my hair look thicker and appears I have more hair

PostedJanuary 5, 2012
Customer avatar
salsa518
from Pewaukee WI
Age:Over 65
Gender:Female
Hair Colour:Other
Hair Length:Short
Hair Concern:Lack of Volume
Hair Type:Fine
Used For:Under 1 year
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fragrance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Boosts Volume 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Heredity has given me very fine hair and beautiful silver hair but that reveals how thin my hair is. I used to have a lot of hair but at 68, I want to have my hair presentable. I've tried other root lifters and this one works extremely well for me. It lifts the hair at the crown of my head and controlls the hair so that I can style it best. I had a stroke 8 yrs ago, so styling, using one hand adds to my styling problems. Thanks John Frieda for such a great styling tool.
Recommended For: Fine Hair, Straight Hair
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 45 for Blow-Dry Lotion Root Booster
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Blow-Dry Lotion Root Booster

PostedJanuary 5, 2012
Customer avatar
Maggie625
from Crystal Lake, IL
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Hair Colour:Blonde
Hair Length:Medium
Hair Concern:Lack of Volume
Hair Type:Fine
Used For:3-5 years
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fragrance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Boosts Volume 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love this great. I know that every day I will achieve the same result - full, shiny, natural looking hair that isn't stiff, weighed down, or looks processed. I have very fine, flat hair with some hair loss on the top front of my head, and with this product, I look and FEEL "normal". It takes 3 minutes from spraying the Booster to finishing with light hairspray (to hold the look and tame flyaways) and the results last all day. High quality product, from a great company.
Recommended For: Fine Hair
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 46 for Blow-Dry Lotion Root Booster
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

lightweight and inexpensive

PostedOctober 27, 2011
Customer avatar
MaryMe2day
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Hair Colour:Blonde
Hair Length:Short
Hair Concern:Lack of Volume
Hair Type:Straight
Used For:1-2 years
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fragrance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Boosts Volume 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I like this volumizer by John Frieda because it is lightweight and inexpensive. It does not make my hair greasy like some of the salon products that I have tried in the past. I can purchase this volumizer at my local grocery store or Walmart, which makes it much easier for me than going to a salon. I think that for the price (around 6$ but I never buy without a coupon) it is absolutely the best product that you can find. I have short, straight, blond hair and I use this every day with no negative effects on my hair.
Recommended For: Straight Hair
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 47 for Blow-Dry Lotion Root Booster
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

This product instantly gives your hair visible lift

PostedJuly 27, 2011
Customer avatar
tenpire23
from Tomball, TX
Age:Under 18
Gender:Female
Hair Colour:Blonde
Hair Length:Long
Hair Concern:Preserve/Enhance Colour
Hair Type:Straight
Used For:1-2 years
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fragrance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Boosts Volume 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have very fine and limp hair and the blow-dry lotion root booster transformed my hair into thick looking hair- full of body and bounce. It was very easy to use and surprisingly, I did not have to drench my hair in product- just a few sprays did the trick. I would recommend this product to anyone with thin, lifeless hair. I would have never have known how to use this product if it had not been for the instructional videos on johnfrieda.com. They were extremely helpful and showed me the results of this product before I bought it.
 BrightestBlonde
Recommended For: Normal Hair, Fine Hair, Straight Hair
Yes, I recommend this product.
 
Products related to my review
Thickening Shampoo
4.9 out of 5(62)
 
 
 
Thickening Conditioner
4.8 out of 5(19)
 
 
 
 
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 48 for Blow-Dry Lotion Root Booster
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Finally!

PostedJanuary 5, 2012
Customer avatar
Ruby2
from Central Missouri
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Hair Colour:Blonde
Hair Length:Short
Hair Concern:Lack of Volume
Hair Type:Straight
Used For:1-2 years
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fragrance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Boosts Volume 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have very fine, lifeless hair and have tried everything under the sun for volume! I have tried expensive cremes, sprays, and gels; I looked like a grease-ball or shellac-head. I tried granny's home-made egg conditioner--we won't even go there. Then my daughter accidently left her John Freida Root Booster. So I tried it. Needless to say, she did NOT get it back! It works great without weighing down my hair or leaving it looking dirty. I finally have fuller hair that I can actually style! I love the availability and price, no funky smell, easy to use and travel with. Thanks for a great product!
 BrightestBlonde
Recommended For: Fine Hair, Straight Hair
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 49 for Blow-Dry Lotion Root Booster
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Volumize with ease

PostedJanuary 6, 2012
Customer avatar
Darlene
from East Coast, United States
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Hair Colour:Other
Hair Length:Medium
Hair Concern:Lack of Volume
Hair Type:Fine
Used For:5+ years
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fragrance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Boosts Volume 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
Flat, dull & full of static, no "oomph." Pretty much described my middle-aged, somewhat wavy, home-colored hair. After recently trying John Freida's Blow-Dry Lotion Root Booster, I can describe my hair as bouncy, shiny & soft, more "pizazz" than I ever thought possible. The formula is very light, not greasy. The fragrance is simple and best of all it's John Freida, inexpensive, trustworthy and a few sprays massaged in after towel-drying makes it so simple to use. Never thought blow-drying my hair could be so much fun ! My hair problems were in my roots and you have placed the solution in my reach. Thank You John Freida.
 BrightestBlonde
Recommended For: Dry Hair, Split Ends, Normal Hair, Colour or Heat-Damaged Hair, Moderate Frizz, Fine Hair, Coarse Hair, Chronic Frizz, Dull Hair, Natural Highlights, Grey Coverage, Wavy Hair, Colour-Treated Hair, Straight Hair, Brittle or Broken Hair
Yes, I recommend this product.
 
Products related to my review
 
Blow-Dry Lotion Root Booster
4.7 out of 5(53)
 
 
 
Extra Hold Hairspray
3.9 out of 5(27)
 
 
 
 
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 50 for Blow-Dry Lotion Root Booster
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

It WORKS!

PostedJanuary 5, 2012
Customer avatar
PeaceCorpsMeri
from Atlanta
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Hair Colour:Blonde
Hair Length:Short
Hair Concern:Lack of Volume
Hair Type:Fine
Used For:1-2 years
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fragrance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Boosts Volume 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I must have tried every "root boost" solution that has been marketing for the past 20 years, from exclusive brands to bargains. This is the first one that works like it is supposed to! I have very fine, thin hair, and this product gives my hair the most body it's seen in years! The trick, I've found, it to use ENOUGH! It's hard to use too much, but it's easy to use too little. After I towel dry my hair, I spray this generously at the roots of my crown, then back and sides. Quick drying with my head upside-down to dampness, I then use a round brush to finish the styling. Ruffling it with my fingers, it looks like my hair volume is normal!
 BrightestBlonde
Recommended For: Fine Hair
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 51 for Blow-Dry Lotion Root Booster
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product actually delivers what it claims...imagine that!

PostedJanuary 13, 2012
Customer avatar
Eiffelgirl
from Northport, AL
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Hair Colour:Blonde
Hair Length:Medium
Hair Concern:Hair Health
Hair Type:Normal
Used For:1-2 years
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fragrance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Boosts Volume 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I received a 1 oz sample of blow-dry lotion root booster some time ago. I tried it, and immediately was impressed with the performance.The pump-delivery system is user-friendly and dispenses an appropriate amount with each use.My hair is fine, but there is alot of it! The lack of volume is a definite problem for me.The root booster lotion provides me with a long-lasting hold, without that sticky/stiff texture.In other words, my hair still moves.I like the heat protection ingredients...I under-stand that they "guard" my hair from heat damage, while making the hair shafts stronger with each use.The smell is fresh and pleasant.Thanks for the sample!!!
Recommended For: Normal Hair, Colour or Heat-Damaged Hair, Fine Hair, Wavy Hair, Curly Hair, Colour-Treated Hair, Straight Hair
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 52 for Blow-Dry Lotion Root Booster
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Flat Hair Follies

PostedJanuary 5, 2012
Customer avatar
lani
from Maryland
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Hair Colour:Brunette
Hair Length:Medium
Hair Concern:Lack of Volume
Hair Type:Straight
Used For:Under 1 year
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fragrance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Boosts Volume 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love, love, love this product! Every root booster I have tried in the past has only achieved weighing my hair down and causing the roots of my hair to seem oily. UNTIL I found John Frieda! The root boosting spray is amazing. I use it during blow drying and styling and the volume stays all day! Not to mention you can use it quick on the go on already dry hair and still achieve an effect. My hair thinned alot after having children and this product has been a real "booster"! It also inspired me to try other John Frieda products for myself and my daughter ( she uses the frizz-ease products) and have I loved them all so far. I recently received a coupon by mail for a free sample of the precision foam color. I am now "dark chocolate brown. " Refreshing, tingly, no smell or mess...ABSOLUTE GENIUS!
Recommended For: Normal Hair, Fine Hair, Wavy Hair, Curly Hair, Straight Hair
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 53 for Blow-Dry Lotion Root Booster
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Roots Boosted- Volumized to the Max! My #1 Go To Product!

PostedJanuary 5, 2012
Customer avatar
MotherStacie
from Las Vegas
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Hair Colour:Blonde
Hair Length:Long
Hair Concern:Lack of Volume
Hair Type:Wavy
Used For:5+ years
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fragrance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Boosts Volume 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Let me start by telling you that I have no problems paying top dollar for beauty products that work. That being said I have learned over the years that JF (John Frieda) products are THE BEST quality you can get in ANY price catagory. I have tried very expensive root lifters and found them to be sticky, gooey and some to even weigh down my hair. I have thin wavy hair that gets matted down FAST. I purchased the Luxurios Volume Root Booster on a whim, I was hoping for matched quality to their other fabulous lines (Frizz Ease & Brilliant Blonde) and I GOT IT! If I could rate this product 10 Stars- I absolutely would! The Volume I get is perfect, my hair stays soft and natural, yet still easy to style-I can put it up in a ponytail now because I have volume! Just tons of lift! I have found that JF's Line or Luxurious Volume is Fabulous- and the Root Booster is a MUST HAVE Product for ALL! Buy It, Try It- YOU WILL Love It, as I Do! Buy it for friends & Family too- Get ready for amazing results and Thank You's!
 BrightestBlonde
Recommended For: Dry Hair, Normal Hair, Colour or Heat-Damaged Hair, Moderate Frizz, Fine Hair, Coarse Hair, Dull Hair, Oily Hair, Natural Highlights, Wavy Hair, Curly Hair, Colour-Treated Hair, Straight Hair, Brittle or Broken Hair
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
<<prev123