John Frieda Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At John Frieda
Shop Shampoo or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for John Frieda Smooth Start® <br>Shampoo

John Frieda Smooth Start® <br>Shampoo

  • Repairing formula eliminates frizz at the core for flawlessly, smooth hair.
  • Starts eliminating frizz in the shower for smooth, easy styling.
  • Repairs the look and feel of damage as it helps seal split ends and restores hair's natural frizz defenses.
  • Contains Frizz-Mending Complex and silk protein.
Overall rating:
4.448 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(29 reviews) 29
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 29 reviews
5 stars
25
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
4
25 out of 29(86%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Smooth Start® <br>Shampoo
Review 1 for Smooth Start® <br>Shampoo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I love it!

PostedJune 13, 2014
Customer avatar
Mandy18
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Hair Colour:Black
Hair Length:Long
Hair Concern:Hair Health
Hair Type:Curly
Used For:Under 1 year
Please tell us how you most recently received the product:I purchased from the store or online.
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fragrance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Controls Frizz 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I love this shampoo, I started using this and the conditioner a few weeks ago and my hair is softer, less frizzy and doesn't tangle.
Recommended For: Dry Hair, Split Ends, Normal Hair, Moderate Frizz, Coarse Hair, Wavy Hair, Curly Hair, Colour-Treated Hair, Straight Hair
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Smooth Start® <br>Shampoo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

THE BEST SHAMPOO I'VE EVER USED!!!! LOVE IT <3

PostedJanuary 19, 2014
Customer avatar
FridaBC
from Mexico
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Hair Colour:Black
Hair Length:Long
Hair Concern:Frizz Control
Hair Type:Coarse
Used For:Under 1 year
Please tell us how you most recently received the product:I purchased from the store or online.
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fragrance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Controls Frizz 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This shampoo is AMAZING! My hair had been super dry and frizzy lately, I tried a lot of products and shampoos that made my hair feel soft for a couple of hours but then it would feel dry again, and the other day my local Walmart had this shampoo and the conditioner on sale so I decided to try it, and omg, since the first use my hair felt so different, so silky and smooth, it looked super shiny, basically, it looked SO HEALTHY! I'm never using another shampoo, this one has done wonders for my hair, I'm so glad I tried it! I totally recommend it <3
Recommended For: Split Ends, Colour or Heat-Damaged Hair, Brassy Hair, Chronic Frizz, Dull Hair, Colour-Treated Hair, Brittle or Broken Hair
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Smooth Start® <br>Shampoo
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

HATE HATE HATE

PostedSeptember 15, 2013
Customer avatar
caroline5823
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Fragrance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Controls Frizz 
1 / 5
1 / 5
first of all, this shampoo made my hair frizzier than it was originally. my hair was a mess after using this! plus, this shampoo leaves a plastic-like coating on your hair that makes it IMPOSSIBLE to get a brush through. i think i had to pull out 20 knots in my hair during the process of blowing and straightening it. plus, it also makes your hair greasy within 12 hours of washing. please spare your hair. DONT BUY
No, I do not recommend this product.
-6points
1of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Smooth Start® <br>Shampoo
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Nice to apply but dries out hair

PostedAugust 28, 2013
Customer avatar
angrycustomer101
from Hampshire
Age:Under 18
Gender:Female
Hair Colour:Brunette
Hair Length:Short
Hair Concern:Frizz Control
Hair Type:Dry
Used For:Under 1 year
Please tell us how you most recently received the product:I purchased from the store or online.
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fragrance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Controls Frizz 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I have dry, frizzy hair which is very thick. I have tried using other Frizz ease products in the past and they have done nothing but I saw these new adverts and thought this might be better as it is supposedly designed for my type of hair.
I bought the shampoo and conditioner and applied as instructed. It was nice to apply in the shower and looked shiny but as soon as i washed it out and left my hair to dry my hair became drier and frizzier than normal! even after applying oils and hair products after.
Really not satisfied! Will not be buying again.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Smooth Start® <br>Shampoo
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Smooth Start Repairing Shampoo

PostedFebruary 3, 2013
Customer avatar
Cherianne42
from Traverse City, Michigan
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Hair Colour:Brunette
Hair Length:Medium
Hair Concern:Other
Hair Type:Wavy
Used For:3-5 years
Please tell us how you most recently received the product:I purchased from the store or online.
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Fragrance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Controls Frizz 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I bought this shampoo because I couldn't find the FRIZZ-EASE® CURL AROUND STYLE‑STARTING DAILY SHAMPOO that you guys used to make and is now discontinued. This shampoo does part of what it says Smooth. My hair that had went back to being naturally medium wavy with a bit of curl and body when I got older 5 years ago, has now went straight again using your new shampoo. Its straightening out my hair. It used to be straight all of my life, so it doesn't take much to straighten it again either. I loved the curls that your Curl Around Style made. It gave it a bit more curl which was cute, and it did control the frizz with just the shampoo alone. I hate spending time on my hair I like to wash, hair-spray, and go. The natural curls stayed put and looked great. I never had to use a curling iron and I hate using them anyway because it damages your hair and causes split ends. I have rarely had any problems with split ends. With your new shampoo, my hair will go back to being completely straight some hours later or by the next day. It also does NOT control the frizz during the dry winter. Now I have had to start using conditioner along with the shampoo to control my frizz and even still, I have a small bit of frizz going on but not as much as without the conditioner. I don't like putting extra junk in my hair which only weighs it down and tends to make it start looking oily even after just having washed it. Why do companies change what is a good thing instead of keeping it? That keeps you having loyal customers. Now I have to start all over again looking for another anti-frizz shampoo that will help put the natural wave and curl back into my hair.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Smooth Start® <br>Shampoo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Made my overly bleached hair smooth again!!

PostedJanuary 13, 2013
Customer avatar
okaybye85
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Hair Colour:Brunette
Hair Length:Long
Hair Concern:Damaged Hair
Hair Type:Curly
Used For:1-2 years
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fragrance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Controls Frizz 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bleached my hair to the point where it looked like extremely curly hair brushed through. It was ridiculously dry and frizzy and very gross looking. It was so thin and dry and my hair would break off to the root. Then, I came across Frizz-Ease. I figured since other products didn't work for me that this is my last hope. Luckily enough, this did wonders to my hair! I thought my hair was to the point of no return, but Frizz-Ease seriously helped. Now my hair is growing normally and I want everybody to be able to become confident in their hair again.
Recommended For: Split Ends, Dry Hair, Colour or Heat-Damaged Hair, Moderate Frizz, Chronic Frizz, Wavy Hair, Curly Hair, Colour-Treated Hair, Straight Hair, Brittle or Broken Hair
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Smooth Start® <br>Shampoo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Made a big difference in my hair the very first use of it :D

PostedJune 18, 2012
Customer avatar
Andy1018
from New Jersey
Age:18-24
Gender:Male
Hair Colour:Black
Hair Length:Medium
Hair Concern:Hair Health
Hair Type:Curly
Used For:Under 1 year
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fragrance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Controls Frizz 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I was amazed by the first use of this product. This for sure helped my hair get a lot more tamed down. It made it a lot smoother nd silkier. Especially after I had straightened my hair, omg it felt so amazing, so light nd soft. I never had another product make my hair feel this way. Especially all the way after my styling, I had no frizz nd my hair felt really good. So Im def happy with the results of this product nd I'm about to buy my 3rd :]
Recommended For: Dry Hair, Split Ends, Normal Hair, Colour or Heat-Damaged Hair, Moderate Frizz, Fine Hair, Brassy Hair, Coarse Hair, Chronic Frizz, Dull Hair, Oily Hair, Wavy Hair, Curly Hair, Straight Hair, Brittle or Broken Hair
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Smooth Start® <br>Shampoo
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

gummy

PostedJune 12, 2012
Customer avatar
gooeyhead
from florida
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Hair Colour:Blonde
Hair Length:Medium
Hair Concern:Lack of Volume
Hair Type:Wavy
Used For:1-2 years
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Fragrance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Controls Frizz 
1 / 5
1 / 5
this product leaves my hair with a residue so thick that I cannot even get a brush through it.
 BrightestBlonde
Recommended For: Colour or Heat-Damaged Hair
No, I do not recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Smooth Start® <br>Shampoo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Miracle

PostedApril 26, 2012
Customer avatar
gatinha17
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Hair Colour:Other
Hair Length:Medium
Hair Concern:Damaged Hair
Hair Type:Wavy
Used For:Under 1 year
Miracle is what I call this product, I am really happy with the results I saw difference at first use, my hair looks really healthy and the amazing thing is that I don't have to use the flat iron, my hair looks shinny and straight . My hair is wavy but with this is now straight and I am loving it and is soft. shinny, smelling great...., but my baby girl is 3 and her hair is really but really curly, she have never dad a hair cut and we did not want to cut it, her hair was dry so I got this leave in conditioner to see if it would help, it did, her hair still really curly and really heathy, people fall in love with her hair and I only use twice a week the shampoo and conditioner... Girls buy it is worth it... shampoo, conditioner and leave in spray....
My baby boy is 19 months and his hair is wavy I use on him once a week his hair is gorgeous. People you wont regret this is the best I have try in the past 10 years..... :-)))
Recommended For: Normal Hair, Split Ends, Dry Hair, Colour or Heat-Damaged Hair, Moderate Frizz, Fine Hair, Brassy Hair, Coarse Hair, Chronic Frizz, Dull Hair, Oily Hair, Wavy Hair, Curly Hair, Colour-Treated Hair, Straight Hair, Brittle or Broken Hair
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Cherianne42
Traverse City, Michigan
 
Please wait while more information about Cherianne42 is loaded.
Additional information about Cherianne42 could not be loaded.
Posted February 3, 2013
That is what I hate about the shampoo is that it is straightening out my hair instead of helping to keep its' natural wave and curl like the FRIZZ-EASE® CURL AROUND STYLE‑STARTING DAILY SHAMPOO did. I'm completely depressed with how its leaving my hair now. :-(
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 10 for Smooth Start® <br>Shampoo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Smooth Start® Repairing Shampoo

PostedApril 13, 2012
Customer avatar
HOLAGRRL
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fragrance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Controls Frizz 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It's really good, I always inspect my hair everyday to find split ends and usually find some. But since I started using Smooth Start® Repairing Shampoo, I've been seeing a lot less split ends and the fragrance smells really great too! Thanks!
Recommended For: Split Ends, Moderate Frizz, Chronic Frizz
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Smooth Start® <br>Shampoo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product works wonders!

PostedJanuary 17, 2012
Customer avatar
Heather47
from Fort Wayne, IN
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fragrance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Controls Frizz 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have mildly frizzy, damaged hair and really love Smooth Start Repairing Shampoo and the conditioner. This shampoo leaves my hair feeling clean and noticeably reduces frizziness. Since I started using this shampoo, my hair looks healthier. The fragrance is also something I love! I would describe it as yummy and sophisticated.
Recommended For: Split Ends, Dry Hair, Colour or Heat-Damaged Hair, Moderate Frizz, Coarse Hair, Chronic Frizz, Dull Hair, Curly Hair, Colour-Treated Hair, Brittle or Broken Hair
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Smooth Start® <br>Shampoo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Product

PostedJanuary 14, 2012
Customer avatar
stufforstine
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fragrance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Controls Frizz 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love the John Frieda Smooth Start Repairing Shampoo. It really does a wonderful job of controlling frizz. It does not weigh my hair down like other frizz controlling shampoos do. I love how it magically keeps my hair frizz free even in humidity. I would recommend this shampoo to anyone. Great product!
Recommended For: Moderate Frizz, Wavy Hair
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Smooth Start® <br>Shampoo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

THIS IS THE BEST SHAMPOO

PostedJanuary 7, 2012
Customer avatar
YVONNE40
from MARYLAND
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Hair Colour:Blonde
Hair Length:Medium
Hair Concern:Frizz Control
Hair Type:Dry
Used For:Under 1 year
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fragrance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Controls Frizz 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I HAD TROUBLE WITH FRIZZY HAIR, UNTIL I GOT A SAMPLE OF FRIZZ-EASE CONTROL SHAMPOO AND CONDITIONER AND TRIED IT, WELL ALL I GOT TO SAY IS "WOW". I SO LOVE THE PRODUCTS I HAVE NO MORE FRIZZ AND IT LEAVES MY HAIR SOFT AND SHINY, I GET SO MANY COMPLIMENTS ON MY HAIR.
 BrightestBlonde
Recommended For: Split Ends, Normal Hair, Dry Hair, Colour or Heat-Damaged Hair, Moderate Frizz, Brassy Hair, Chronic Frizz, Dull Hair, Straight Hair, Brittle or Broken Hair
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Smooth Start® <br>Shampoo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

No More Frizz

PostedJanuary 6, 2012
Customer avatar
hrg126
from Wheeling, WV
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Hair Colour:Blonde
Hair Length:Medium
Hair Concern:Frizz Control
Hair Type:Normal
Used For:1-2 years
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fragrance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Controls Frizz 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Using this product will help to get frizzy hair under control. No more fly away hair. Makes hair nice and smooth.
 BrightestBlonde
Recommended For: Moderate Frizz
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Smooth Start® <br>Shampoo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing

PostedJanuary 6, 2012
Customer avatar
ashafree
from SC
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Hair Colour:Brunette
Hair Length:Long
Hair Concern:Damaged Hair
Hair Type:Curly
Used For:5+ years
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fragrance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Controls Frizz 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have really curly frizzy hair that I am constantly straightening and when i straighten it after I wash and put in my seriums my hair looks amazing. It looks healthy and shiny and not greasy. I love all of John Frieda's products.
Recommended For: Moderate Frizz, Chronic Frizz, Wavy Hair, Curly Hair, Straight Hair
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Smooth Start® <br>Shampoo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Frizz no more!

PostedJanuary 6, 2012
Customer avatar
mrsmajdad
from newark, ohio
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Hair Colour:Blonde
Hair Length:Long
Hair Concern:Frizz Control
Hair Type:Fine
Used For:5+ years
All I can say is...try it you like it! Really calms down lightened hair after the bleach.
 BrightestBlonde
Recommended For: Natural Highlights
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Smooth Start® <br>Shampoo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great!!

PostedJanuary 6, 2012
Customer avatar
Sarabear7875
from Phoenix, NY
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Hair Colour:Blonde
Hair Length:Short
Hair Concern:Damaged Hair
Hair Type:Straight
Used For:1-2 years
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fragrance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Controls Frizz 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This shampoo is perfect for getting rid of the flyaways in the winter time!
 BrightestBlonde
Recommended For: Colour or Heat-Damaged Hair, Colour-Treated Hair
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Smooth Start® <br>Shampoo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love it!

PostedJanuary 5, 2012
Customer avatar
CyndiB
from Yulee, FL
Gender:Female
Hair Colour:Brunette
Hair Length:Long
Hair Concern:Frizz Control
Hair Type:Wavy
Used For:1-2 years
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fragrance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Controls Frizz 
4 / 5
4 / 5
My hair is extremely frizzy, and this is one of the only products that is able to help me tame it! When I wash my hair with this shampoo, I can tell right away that it is softening my hair and defrizzing, right in the shower. I totally recommend it!
Recommended For: Split Ends, Normal Hair, Moderate Frizz, Chronic Frizz, Colour-Treated Hair
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Smooth Start® <br>Shampoo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I LOVE IT!!!

PostedJanuary 5, 2012
Customer avatar
cgonzales
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fragrance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Controls Frizz 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Works great with the conditioner. It leaves my hair so smooth and soft!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Smooth Start® <br>Shampoo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Frizzy Hair

PostedJanuary 5, 2012
Customer avatar
nadia2484
from League City, Texas
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Hair Colour:Brunette
Hair Length:Long
Hair Concern:Frizz Control
Hair Type:Curly
Used For:Under 1 year
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fragrance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Controls Frizz 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have thick hair that needs hydration.. This product works really well to tame my frizz! The first use my hair felt soft and looked shiny. I have just started using this shampoo and conditioner and I can already see the difference in how healthy my hair looks. No more war with dry frizzy hair thanks to you!
 BrightestBlonde
Recommended For: Dry Hair, Colour or Heat-Damaged Hair, Moderate Frizz, Chronic Frizz, Wavy Hair, Curly Hair, Colour-Treated Hair
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
12next>>